Page 1 of 1

Question about patching a MIDI octave transposer

Posted: Mon Aug 05, 2013 11:59 pm
by Illiac
Does anyone know if it's possible to make an octave shift that transposes even if a long, sustained note is playing? In other words, a way to keep the note(s) on when transposing in real time? I've tried a bunch of different ways, but can only get it to work once a new note on message is sent.

Thanks.

Re: Question about patching a MIDI octave transposer

Posted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 8:07 am
by chapelier fou
im afraid that's how midi works...

Re: Question about patching a MIDI octave transposer

Posted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 8:35 am
by broc
Basically you could use a [table] object of size 128 to keep track of playing notes by storing their velocity. And if an octave shift command arrives, stop and retrigger shifted all notes from the table that have velocity > 0.

Re: Question about patching a MIDI octave transposer

Posted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 11:06 am
by Illiac
Brilliant! thank you, Broc. Off to patch that up.