Dub Machines

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Valiumdupeuple
Posts: 1036
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Dub Machines

Post by Valiumdupeuple » Thu Nov 20, 2014 10:53 am

stkr wrote:
Valiumdupeuple wrote: Should we discuss this in the beta forum instead ?
yes please ;-) ...
Done :twisted:

adh82
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 1:22 am

Re: Dub Machines

Post by adh82 » Wed Jan 21, 2015 1:25 pm

im having massive cpu problems with dub machines!
im running live 9.1.7 32bit and max 7 or even 6.1.9 on mavericks 10.9.5 macbook pro late 2011 16gig ram and a 2.2 GHz i7 processor
i load up magnetic and it hits 43% or more cpu on 1x processing speed, if i go to 4x processing speed it hits 60%+ cpu.
so my older projects are now blowing over 110% cpu! its terrible and i need to finish these projects asap.
please help!

Valiumdupeuple
Posts: 1036
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Dub Machines

Post by Valiumdupeuple » Wed Jan 21, 2015 3:02 pm

Something's wrong. I have the same setup/machine config as you (except that I use Live 64bit), and I can tell assure you that this is not normal.
When did you install Dub Machines ?
It was updated a few month ago, with a few serious bug fixes and performance improvements.
Have you tried downloading and re-installing the pack recently ?

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Dub Machines

Post by Stromkraft » Wed Jan 21, 2015 7:44 pm

adh82 wrote:im having massive cpu problems with dub machines!
im running live 9.1.7 32bit and max 7 or even 6.1.9 on mavericks 10.9.5 macbook pro late 2011 16gig ram and a 2.2 GHz i7 processor
i load up magnetic and it hits 43% or more cpu on 1x processing speed, if i go to 4x processing speed it hits 60%+ cpu.
so my older projects are now blowing over 110% cpu! its terrible and i need to finish these projects asap.
please help!
That's not normal. I can have those figures, usually less though, but that's on a 2.2 Ghz Core2Duo. I have noticed some strange CPU requirement changes during use though. Like I got rid of some kind of noise by moving to 4x oversampling with little penalty in an otherwise heavy use project and the next time I couldn't even run it with 1x. A tad peculiar.

It could be you need to reinstall.
Make some music!

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Dub Machines

Post by Stromkraft » Wed Jan 21, 2015 7:51 pm

stkr, what can influence strikingly different demands from Magnetic on CPU power? For instance as using 4x oversampling one day without large impact and another day even 1x is too much also in the same project and without any drastic changes or additions to the CPU load elsewhere in the same set.

Is there some way to calculate how much CPU will be needed? Compromises you can do? What are the major culprits to watch out for?
Make some music!

adh82
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 1:22 am

Re: Dub Machines

Post by adh82 » Sun Jan 25, 2015 5:38 pm

so i reinstalled dub machines and im still having massive issues!
i am running it with 6.1.9 in 32 bit live 9.1.7 and if i load only magnetic and nothing else i get 45-47% CPU used.
ive tried it all even having 1 empty audio track and magnetic on the master with no returns, absolute minimum and i still have 45-47% CPU used.
What happened and when will it change?

Really need this one fixed asap!

Cheers,
A

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Dub Machines

Post by Stromkraft » Sun Jan 25, 2015 5:45 pm

adh82 wrote:so i reinstalled dub machines and im still having massive issues!
i am running it with 6.1.9 in 32 bit live 9.1.7 and if i load only magnetic and nothing else i get 45-47% CPU used.
ive tried it all even having 1 empty audio track and magnetic on the master with no returns, absolute minimum and i still have 45-47% CPU used.
What happened and when will it change?

Really need this one fixed asap!
I'm not sure what you mean with the bolded part above. You run no sound trough it? What oversampling are you using? Do the presets or settings that you use not influence the amount of CPU used?

Could you please try the 64bit version of Live to see if that makes a difference? I'm using the 64bit version on a much slower machine than yours. Magnetic seems to make up 10-20% of CPU on 1x and slightly more on 2x. I can't use 4x very often on my slow machine as that affects other instruments.
Make some music!

adh82
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 1:22 am

Re: Dub Machines

Post by adh82 » Sun Jan 25, 2015 8:58 pm

ok, say i open a new project so its completely empty...
then i load up magnetic on a return track ready to start my project.
the cpu jumps up to 47%
magnetic is in its default setting, processor on 1x

adh82
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 1:22 am

Re: Dub Machines

Post by adh82 » Sun Jan 25, 2015 9:02 pm

just tried it on a 64bit beta version of live and it sent from 17% (new project, nothing added, still a strange reading) then it jumps to 98-99% cpu just by loading 1 default magnetic!!!!!


What is going on????

Valiumdupeuple
Posts: 1036
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Dub Machines

Post by Valiumdupeuple » Sun Jan 25, 2015 11:33 pm

Do you use the same Max bit version as Live?

stringtapper
Posts: 6271
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:21 pm

Re: Dub Machines

Post by stringtapper » Mon Jan 26, 2015 4:11 am

Valiumdupeuple wrote:Do you use the same Max bit version as Live?
M4L wouldn't run at all if they weren't.
Unsound Designer

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Dub Machines

Post by Stromkraft » Mon Jan 26, 2015 10:55 pm

adh82 wrote:just tried it on a 64bit beta version of live and it sent from 17% (new project, nothing added, still a strange reading) then it jumps to 98-99% cpu just by loading 1 default magnetic!!!!!


What is going on????
Well, something is indeed very wrong.
I'd reinstall. I just did that out of other reasons related to M4L and all issues disappeared and performance is the best ever. I don't regret that move.
Make some music!

stkr
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 10:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Dub Machines

Post by stkr » Tue Jan 27, 2015 1:55 pm

hi all,

REALLY sorry i missed this latest conversation and have taken so long to reply. i was insanely busy :(

@ Stromkraft

no, your experiences sound very very wrong. apologies.

dub machines have always managed cpu dynamically, meaning expensive elements are only engaged when called, but in the version 1.1 update we did this even more aggressively to try and squeeze as much out of it as we could. this was particularly effective in processing modes 2x and 4x.

so, yes, cpu usage should fluctuate a little when using the device (changing modes etc). however, nothing like you are seeing! i have not encountered this before.

so that we can deal with your issue best, please please email us at support@surrealmachines.com so we can delve into your details. if anyone else has these issues please also email support.

in the meantime, just to point out, we have actually had a few performance problems with users using m4l based on max 7,and are working on these, but max 6.1.9 m4l users have not had any problems as far as i know.

thanks,
stkr.

fabrice segura
Posts: 129
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 7:48 am
Location: nice/france

Re: Dub Machines

Post by fabrice segura » Sun Feb 01, 2015 3:03 pm

very good delays..
i think i don't have cpu problem with the two dubmachine devices.

but my live 9(last version) crash everyday with many official m4live devices(dubmachine-kdevices-darksynth -spectrum effects etc;;) inside(6.1.9)
(live not response when i want to save my project etc..)

i don't know if the problem is m4l ou live9

tecolo
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 1:21 pm

Re: Dub Machines

Post by tecolo » Mon Feb 02, 2015 11:57 am

fabrice segura wrote:very good delays..
i think i don't have cpu problem with the two dubmachine devices.

but my live 9(last version) crash everyday with many official m4live devices(dubmachine-kdevices-darksynth -spectrum effects etc;;) inside(6.1.9)
(live not response when i want to save my project etc..)

i don't know if the problem is m4l ou live9
You can jump here and see for your self. In 90% of the cases it's the m4l..

viewtopic.php?f=35&t=205402&start=0

Post Reply