Yosemite 10.10.3 public beta and Max For Live

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
grav
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 12:00 pm

Yosemite 10.10.3 public beta and Max For Live

Post by grav » Sun Mar 08, 2015 3:15 pm

Hey!

Has anyone successfully been running Max For Live under Yosemite 10.10.3 public beta?

When I add a M4L plugin to a track, the Max For Live loading screen shows up, after which Live crashes. I've tried re-installing Max For Live. I've also tried with both newest Live 9.1.7 as well as the Live 9.2 beta.

I know it's beta software, so it's unsafe water (and I have a backup). Just wondered if anyone is able to run this combination without any problems.
Logitech Three-button Mouse w/Wheel

S4racen
Posts: 5437
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Yosemite 10.10.3 public beta and Max For Live

Post by S4racen » Sun Mar 08, 2015 7:30 pm

You need an older version of Java for it to work, have a search on their forums for details...

Cheers
D

grav
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 12:00 pm

Re: Yosemite 10.10.3 public beta and Max For Live

Post by grav » Sun Mar 08, 2015 8:23 pm

Thanks for the pointer, though I'm having trouble finding anything in these forums. I get way too many results, searching for 'yosemite beta java' or anything like that.

Can you point me to anything more specific?

Thanks :-)
Logitech Three-button Mouse w/Wheel

chapelier fou
Posts: 5225
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Yosemite 10.10.3 public beta and Max For Live

Post by chapelier fou » Sun Mar 08, 2015 8:48 pm

MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

grav
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 12:00 pm

Re: Yosemite 10.10.3 public beta and Max For Live

Post by grav » Sun Mar 08, 2015 9:47 pm

chapelier fou wrote:i think this is it : https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1572?vie ... cale=fr_FR
Sorry, no, that didn't work.

As I mentioned, this is a problem specific to the 10.10.3 beta. It is not present for me on OS X Yosemite 10.10.2.
Logitech Three-button Mouse w/Wheel

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Yosemite 10.10.3 public beta and Max For Live

Post by Stromkraft » Sun Mar 08, 2015 10:18 pm

grav wrote:
chapelier fou wrote:i think this is it : https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1572?vie ... cale=fr_FR
Sorry, no, that didn't work.

As I mentioned, this is a problem specific to the 10.10.3 beta. It is not present for me on OS X Yosemite 10.10.2.

What do you mean "doesn't work"? Didn't you have to install java also in OS X 10.10.2? That's the only version that works with the current MFL so you must have installed it. Are you saying it won't install in the 10.10.3beta?
Make some music!

grav
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 12:00 pm

Re: Yosemite 10.10.3 public beta and Max For Live

Post by grav » Sun Mar 08, 2015 10:27 pm

Stromkraft wrote:
grav wrote:
chapelier fou wrote:i think this is it : https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1572?vie ... cale=fr_FR
Sorry, no, that didn't work.

As I mentioned, this is a problem specific to the 10.10.3 beta. It is not present for me on OS X Yosemite 10.10.2.

What do you mean "doesn't work"? Didn't you have to install java also in OS X 10.10.2? That's the only version that works with the current MFL so you must have installed it. Are you saying it won't install in the 10.10.3beta?
It was already installed, and re-installing it did not change anything.
Logitech Three-button Mouse w/Wheel

vondersulzburg
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 9:59 pm

Re: Yosemite 10.10.3 public beta and Max For Live

Post by vondersulzburg » Wed Mar 11, 2015 10:05 pm

I have the same issues with Max4Live and OSX10.10.3. Ableton is aware of this problem and they have found the same issues. Live crashes when a Max device is opend. It is related to a central part of MAX. I hope they will fix it soo

vondersulzburg
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 9:59 pm

Re: Yosemite 10.10.3 public beta and Max For Live

Post by vondersulzburg » Thu Mar 12, 2015 9:30 pm

There is a patch for MAX then it works again.

Post Reply