Trying to make an editor for NL 4. How do i make a menu?

Learn about building and using Max for Live devices.
Post Reply
puzzlefactory
Posts: 362
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:39 pm

Trying to make an editor for NL 4. How do i make a menu?

Post by puzzlefactory » Thu Apr 30, 2015 7:38 pm

I'm making an M4L editor for my Nord Lead 4. I'm basically routing "cltin" objects to "live.dial"s to "cltout" objects. This works fine for the functions controlled by the hardwares "knobs".

However certain parameters (such as the oscillator waveform selector an the filter type selector) are changed on the hardware by a single push of a button that cycles through the various states. All of these various states are controlled by a single cc number. How can i set up a control in Max to control these "cycling" parameters?

Better yet, how can i create a menu where i can select the waveform/filter types by name, rather than cycling through?

I've tried creating a "live.menu" object with as many separate options (labelled numerically) as there are waves/filter types, connected to the cltin and cltout, but this does not seem to work.

Can anyone help me out here? Or point me in the right direction?

doubleUG
Posts: 249
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:19 am

Re: Trying to make an editor for NL 4. How do i make a menu?

Post by doubleUG » Fri May 01, 2015 6:37 am

<pre><code>
----------begin_max5_patcher----------
698.3ocyW90aaBCD.+4To9cvxOmFAFCgNsW1Wg0GmppLfShq.6HaSR1p128Y
a9SflPCSij0GRL9ty2c7iiyl2t+tYvDwApBB9B3GfYydyHYlSlUxrFAyfEjC
o4DkyPXpnnfx0v40J0zCZmhuB1ugno6nRfdCEjpk4OvKKRLyI7LvNRdIErRT
ocKQRJnZiNlp0U4LNMUTxc9C0H03CQoNmpcw2qQ7JAWqX+hZE56snmbtw2tb
5aRFIu0+qjqSb93n0rLmchjWevGC6DRFuIh9MR2RzoaX70uHoo5JnEFhM9Bf
8hsC9gVOCPOtvC7raQ+996rilg4iFvb5dS5bJeKXYLCHfSOW5BAzeODBhebw
xv4fv.GEvANVDe0ffoFpfLDG7mHN32Jsx45etkVc6BY1BzmOKlVNBLgiW5.j
m2DvoBpRQVSOETQXaDttPJdXFMDfPe.fvwgcdYB66vSz0COWW3DMwvAErHrE
NAH6jqHbtxUN3oENAwAcpblD3LTCHEMG3A7AHPv.HJbZPDZXDkP3qgyGdbHD
FdYDFfcuCtbJ5gmy1QWXNqPY6cxNhr8F+Ts8wXv45J+AkMyq9sJWPFr8r+kA
.ZIta24PKANtp5Cs7BkSRxo8bohril8BQqkrjRM83UpZF0.IKFLGERrpQdqh
tQHWvWOLq5YpZiPpGosMDCcNklEUTiymLGEyhymH6sCe2hIyXoZOrthnsl33
EGKRpXl6.cu+3kNzaU7tRGknTl17zrYKXPG5mQUZFmnYBdWqP8sZCKKix6ch
nLlx9zxUF4Mb07nSr3QkW1rGcSyqnOo4E9SZdg5GwymWw27xKaZ4eozJ5+RZ
cwmh3adZMplD+a8HpalQ1t07sspZOWkQlM7dUHsyilWMmwqlWsu.TR2wZVhe
UzfDoYuGsoiZorpk8gHLznwEQye+A3GT4cO
-----------end_max5_patcher-----------
</code></pre>
copy the text, open Live > drag in empty M4L device > open Max editor > paste > save M4L device
https://docs.cycling74.com/max8/vignett ... ng_patches

https://doubleUG.bandcamp.com/releases

puzzlefactory
Posts: 362
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:39 pm

Re: Trying to make an editor for NL 4. How do i make a menu?

Post by puzzlefactory » Fri May 01, 2015 8:07 am

Sorry, I don't understand what that is or what to do with it...?

doubleUG
Posts: 249
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:19 am

Re: Trying to make an editor for NL 4. How do i make a menu?

Post by doubleUG » Fri May 01, 2015 8:37 am

copy the text, open Max/Msp > File > New form Clipboard

https://docs.cycling74.com/max5/vignett ... tches.html
copy the text, open Live > drag in empty M4L device > open Max editor > paste > save M4L device
https://docs.cycling74.com/max8/vignett ... ng_patches

https://doubleUG.bandcamp.com/releases

puzzlefactory
Posts: 362
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:39 pm

Re: Trying to make an editor for NL 4. How do i make a menu?

Post by puzzlefactory » Fri May 01, 2015 8:37 am

Ok, will give it a go. Cheers.

puzzlefactory
Posts: 362
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:39 pm

Re: Trying to make an editor for NL 4. How do i make a menu?

Post by puzzlefactory » Fri May 01, 2015 9:59 am

That's fantastic, thank you!!

How do i get the input of the menu to respond to the cc number and parameter value when i physically cycle through the different options from the hardware?

I can use "midiparse" to get the values from the incoming messages, but how do i get the menu to read those messages and switch accordingly?

doubleUG
Posts: 249
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:19 am

Re: Trying to make an editor for NL 4. How do i make a menu?

Post by doubleUG » Fri May 01, 2015 10:17 am

<pre><code>
----------begin_max5_patcher----------
1102.3ocyYFziahCFF9bpT+OXw4zHrw.gU8R0H0asqzVo8x1pQNAOItELQXS
xra09eesMPfzY.bxl.4vDmfMvKO966yul4mu8MybVk8LU3.9MveAlM6mpiLy
bL8QlUefYNojmWmPDlA5rNKMkxkNyq5TReVZ538.AUB9DkWPALIME7TVN3gG
.+IIoPcSpG+SYbof8OT84.cW3VebdQZVgLgJM2F21CmSRMC24C4LRRyUJeyJ
yXatHrXy3xV882gvGG3Nhb8VFeyi4z0xxmV+k5yBf7MMvplkKbAeqkfX7Z8.
MG7ee6azspl4WCd8UGEw9pSMyDf0aI7MzXvAlbqBFfeuPtS0Hy.j8rrXvGoz
3Uj0+.jjks63ULgwoqyJ3lKq2nyYTebFGBW3OG3giZwYL7FvYN8fRNuDy6xo
6n7Xcv4YFCBsfMkCW926nkOuNNMOXsgjaePxKxcApgRAd2rfwtfjDjLcvAF0
aDjqAJdPngJQSQhptv1Cx7jpZYfQuXFbYuEyfUkuB0MKCtYHJkJDjMzWhnV0
.xoBEEIRVFukDCBMSbnPi3bq9nQfiePWuYj9nfVKO3gz0vfAcRTz0mnvAIJL
Tqp6Hh50aZb.1H2ointCQT+vv6rXT+dIJBONwncsngfl.bAPEKbOyBh3KgQq
Tdibl+x1NXWfErqphoejgccWwDeyVT4AvmKRWQyMlkM9.G80V5e02nRP4Edq
8I2UTVt5gkBBvmIWPWTZXmgS1jIVAIb3.L55mIlxhY6H4hyM3I7hgT0eLcn8
q07pPzqeSvFtEgLzycR1P1gsDIcuJaTtkBVqL78NdY1IQsAh8Zuel7TcuJbq
3kT0GS756DCM5lDwVXRD6trUlLJZDyj0QopG3aPAt1P.YQPVPnIJCO9azRy.
UHTJYT1LZmYhPnMTBAsKWL75aVK.eA1JthVuV1+hhHy908wn5WmwXalUymoi
N86sxycQXCclBq9J5LgwNXadWO2d5LjscDv6LYj+0z1d+12Q1vPb4KUHbnx3
9WLCSX6oKTtEJNJm8j7iO4ur2S4k2fdndJIizUIZqHP0p4Ukn86dkrlKVkuk
GobxpD5IcJH6owORjxb1Jkq6luIpfTMkzbP4FJ6o5ieri12gjL9ltg0ICUrM
KWZ4Xq4H505TcRoUP9KJ2XZH+ExAcyenompsPbPQ7pSsJnn4KMQIkjz3o6W+
WjXlQzc7KwNhrh700yw06BEzZNIlJjLt4EOzdT9mNpsr3XJ+DyOwLgd1xDd3
1c374IL3fByaZDFZPg4N5By2pYxfQWWHWqD13OQFYitPi+DIzNfEM9By6dUX
92oByylZESPwUqh7G+JE1HK7jHqAWIJXRj0fwVKGcYgsJUDdp3GAcEbmpqk2
o5BZUQB3+upDUVXI61smlKptzkZRsOmumkq+cv7xey3k+tb2.N4z8r5SAVd2
bH4pMhHU9nKxKMp+b.1Q0i4Np93+.CIZBU.
-----------end_max5_patcher-----------
</code></pre>
copy the text, open Live > drag in empty M4L device > open Max editor > paste > save M4L device
https://docs.cycling74.com/max8/vignett ... ng_patches

https://doubleUG.bandcamp.com/releases

puzzlefactory
Posts: 362
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:39 pm

Re: Trying to make an editor for NL 4. How do i make a menu?

Post by puzzlefactory » Fri May 01, 2015 10:29 am

Marvellous! Thank you so much!

I've edited it slightly so the ctlin goes directly to the "sel" object. I'm guessing the "t" object is a toggle? Not sure how the rest of the patch works or how the "prepend" object works? But i'm glad that it does.

Thanks again

doubleUG
Posts: 249
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:19 am

Re: Trying to make an editor for NL 4. How do i make a menu?

Post by doubleUG » Fri May 01, 2015 10:36 am

t = Trigger and in this patch you can deled it and patch the cords direktly
If you dont know what a objekt does or how it works simply right click on
the objekt and "open Help". It opens a explaining Patch for the seleced objekt.

The word set, followed by a number, specifies a menu item to be displayed by the live.menu object without triggering any output.
copy the text, open Live > drag in empty M4L device > open Max editor > paste > save M4L device
https://docs.cycling74.com/max8/vignett ... ng_patches

https://doubleUG.bandcamp.com/releases

puzzlefactory
Posts: 362
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:39 pm

Re: Trying to make an editor for NL 4. How do i make a menu?

Post by puzzlefactory » Fri May 01, 2015 10:43 am

Great. Thanks again! ;)

Post Reply