Can you control device parameters with live.object?

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
noiseyparker
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2011 6:51 pm

Can you control device parameters with live.object?

Post by noiseyparker » Sun Nov 29, 2015 9:32 pm

Can you control device parameters with live.object, rather than live.remote~? Controlling parameters at signal level is really expensive processing power wise and also inaccurate with fast gestures. I can connect mixer panning and volume with live.object, but can't figure the paths for the device parameters.

kleine
Posts: 1850
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2001 11:46 am
Location: ableton
Contact:

Re: Can you control device parameters with live.object?

Post by kleine » Mon Nov 30, 2015 4:26 am

Sure. Here's an example to pan a selected track..
Best,
c

Code: Select all

<pre><code>
----------begin_max5_patcher----------
851.3oc0WsraaCCD7r8Wg.QO5XPRYYK0asWJJP6o1aEAFzRarYpDofHkqSCx
+d4CI+HwVwIvQn4PjEeoc3rCmk49gCPKja.EJ3iA+JXvf6GNXfqKaGCZZO.U
v1jlyTtogx4qgwYbVNZjez0rJAq.N9fkUfBDZllKEyqfTsOT3w3Q9GSlXeFE
NFGbcyZD0EbQNncwiz9gX5zUbwx89Hj3P6ZmM8DeGdlCSxE2dU3V7vpLXUCU
yAAaQNreHLwUVqaCLsoWcEmIVd3L8SSeWI3QBBMJ.cStjYPVazUr0P1bl1r9
E0ZX2apFxsgcsDXdMHuos6192Gr4RwxSRxGLS0JYkd6TKYhiMoVjiOxXEFx2
N1UjwGeXlScb7QqEbsRemmsl5G+ggC28i64CCGclhMA7GS5qM4ogMtTORUBP
VNuHffwsCdiTrae+ISRKO3yx7LzwDUzmUTQll3zVtFT7wUUQ6GaE+udMBtkY
djfpU7rkePnSJmBt9UPVEfRwVBOgsL6xUAVQybEnCJXJmDnhk96fB9Fy6YvZ
dJDXDKBCYbgIzvH247Pr6Gp+b5oXTZ7+WT5IzetSflAraxyisRk4xpVuuj3I
gjIVCvXRxTbryJLBmXdgbJevNXX5LpyAzKVmh6hfIgugD7ANed5oCau4kPkh
aDihTuYzE2l36S91XVIe7W.8OfbCZfreZk8eUjAadMItnI9rjIw09RTBkDMq
iDWGEvnXWoKJg3sb5zr4kcxfd9INtPaKesvTk6x56Xcab01B9.4BapzJ4m3k
7wcJ4ouGsoWyUby8S79zJCC1Gd0sBROsRmR6jWwue7psbae4T20A9jYtZgQQ
tKqR5jdIuH5M7EPuiZ96.Z1gACaId7+NfaeX6+PtWIqqRa+jMFTAjs6jLPo4
B2892aN156A61tq3YYfXuahhx3J60xy1VP3IhfWBbvOCbrR3dBNQmAbdNxof
mUJM10MIHRBcbjU.4s+HQaasKN8J9sNsuhMPXh+NgwjssdC1.gmwFHp2jCzy
RdR5M77nT2IvSX+gGxY3l3vCoevC9sLe48dYkkqsWI1+McPwTg6Ve0nYibM4
BeSWQFTEXulfbWLPrJSMGsofSckuJvl3oH+RkYPknl6V8PajeX3+.bXfzLK
-----------end_max5_patcher-----------
</code></pre>

dataf1ow
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 4:28 pm

Re: Can you control device parameters with live.object?

Post by dataf1ow » Mon Nov 30, 2015 4:17 pm

<pre><code>
----------begin_max5_patcher----------
728.3ocyVsrbZCCEcs4qPimtjxH4GDna6mPW1oCiv9VPIFYORxTxjI+6U5Ja
BIAmXmDbxFazEYcOmy8ktaRP35xCfNj7CxuIAA2MIH.M4LDzrNHbG+PVAWia
KLqb2NPZBm5+OCbvf1+EXHls.ohq36.CnH64E0P69JDRHqrVhaNpwXE2jsUH
2rRAYFOHRhoynSIrkL2qkotmQKmQI+o4aj06DxBvfng0XTjiXnb80emk15xJ
EnsHkaDkxS7P77qPOrXo6Es4womeYso0AzFqZysE.5iPmg6mLw8X56Ty941x
RMP3mHZkRTE+qPoMjbXuHCHhSsYT7aFpnNeIxUVLJprT5vU0jvKn9XOy0fp0
C9i2baE3QeX3TR3ZtbS3Q3dFNlFc0IINMTjNDJFcLwoMZrBj70ddQOK8i9Pn
+NPq4afmkdnskTXQD4artEmdHJQyW3d4S76VThNinPOebm8kItOOgNK8Xt8a
Htm9YE1kv+r9+YQ8Jk3gVEmivLjowoXLMNdvDNI8RVK2Ux7FaxrzpuusD4FR
Gs.GHjlL3D4jjKZh74CkEh8vL6e3nw6g1wQQHsWNbZy5Msasv2C4q7fdE2XT
h00F+UDBNx9fvUUfRKzFPlgeOCsix1Gj3YHqIEcJaXegoul746MDkxZF3kNz
RkNZ+cY66aYxVhK2YkaBfcfe1MZBs41.tecrSk9MOYnssoebYTLcvoVwK9rp
nb5yKNzn2IFM0UrA2CMti1IwuH4wiGu01StxMBQm8GqH5xZUVKwZuiB4ATlC
ZiPhWv8zMQezl1JxyA4oM3yEZ27MjMzyFa5Mdn8.OtdPiDdR6Abb4siDbdhq
5.OIiGdR5S3Z7RePWw5S5Ca7vyqpOiW75IUNcfmzwCOIWxxce2QdU0d2UK7m
IBE6jgqKUtkWMEWJj9k3IFpryEa2+bzBWYa3arc6qU9lvGl66WGtqLGTxZQy
UVrd99I+GftsmuM
-----------end_max5_patcher-----------
</code></pre>

Same post from the cycling forums ? ;)

Although with downsampling the audio signal (use the [downsample~] object), you can really cut down on the processing required. Also doing things this way will flood your undo history, so keep that in mind.

Post Reply