BeatSeeker not Loading

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
froodster
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 12:31 pm

BeatSeeker not Loading

Post by froodster » Wed Dec 02, 2015 4:36 pm

Hi, I want Beatseeker so I upgraded to 9.5, downloaded Live for Max and then downloaded the BeatSeeker pack. When i opened the BeatSeeker zip it automatically opened my new version of Live and I can see the BeatSeeker in "Packs" folder, but when i drag it onto a track i get a message "This Device is not available for this version of Live".
Ive tried the whole process on both my laptop and mac with the same result.
Ive checked the site to see that i have all of the required downloads (9.5, Live for Max etc)
Can anyone help as im fed up with trying to get through to Support.
Cheers

jonbenderr
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2010 11:20 pm

Re: BeatSeeker not Loading

Post by jonbenderr » Wed Dec 02, 2015 4:45 pm

I believe Beatseeker is only available in the beta versions right now. 9.5.1b2 and up.

These beta versions are freely available to all registered users of Live.

You can join the beta community and download the latest here:

https://ableton.centercode.com/login.html

froodster
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 12:31 pm

Re: BeatSeeker not Loading

Post by froodster » Wed Dec 02, 2015 4:55 pm

Thanks Jon, Ill try that

froodster
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 12:31 pm

Re: BeatSeeker not Loading

Post by froodster » Wed Dec 02, 2015 5:08 pm

Hi Jon, ive gone through that process and find myself on the ableton.centrecode home page. I cant see anywhere to download anything. Can you help again?

froodster
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 12:31 pm

Re: BeatSeeker not Loading

Post by froodster » Wed Dec 02, 2015 5:10 pm

found it. cheers

froodster
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 12:31 pm

Re: BeatSeeker not Loading

Post by froodster » Wed Dec 02, 2015 5:27 pm

Jon, that didnt work. Thanks anyway and if you have any further ideas please let me know.
Cheers

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 1744
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: BeatSeeker not Loading

Post by [jur] » Wed Dec 02, 2015 5:54 pm

jonbenderr wrote:I believe
You shouldn't because :
- religion has proven to be very harmful
- religion talks are forbidden by the Community Guidelines.
:)

More seriously, Beatseeker doesn't require Live 9.5 (neither the beta 9.5 beta), it works with previous Live version.
Do you have a M4L license? Which Live version are you using, Standard + M4L license? Suite? Or a lite version?
M4L needs, Live of course, but also Max to be installed to run. Did you install Max?

cheers,
J.
Ableton Forum Moderator

froodster
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 12:31 pm

Re: BeatSeeker not Loading

Post by froodster » Wed Dec 02, 2015 7:49 pm

Top man Jon thank you. Older version of 9 was needed. Much obliged :D

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 1744
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: BeatSeeker not Loading

Post by [jur] » Wed Dec 02, 2015 8:00 pm

froodster wrote:Top man Jon thank you. Older version of 9 was needed. Much obliged :D
... but it should work with 9.5 also. I've just checked and no problem.

(btw I'm not Jon, I'm Julien) :wink:
Ableton Forum Moderator

jonbenderr
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2010 11:20 pm

Re: BeatSeeker not Loading

Post by jonbenderr » Thu Dec 03, 2015 10:47 am

Yeah, I'm an idiot. I was thinking Link despite Beatseeker being pretty well spelled out everywhere in this thread.

Talk about a brain fart.

Sorry dude.

RadioOnMars
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 9:06 am

Re: BeatSeeker not Loading

Post by RadioOnMars » Mon Dec 07, 2015 11:07 am

Glad to hear you got it working fine.

If you're interested in tempo syncing, at the moment BeatSeeker is not yet compatible with Link. This is due to the way BeatSeeker interprets unexpected incoming changes in tempo, for example hitting the tap button or activating a scene with a BPM value. It may take a little time to work this out.

Post Reply