path to control_surfaces issue in Live 9.6 / SOLVED..ish

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
leighhunt
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:41 am
Location: London UK
Contact:

path to control_surfaces issue in Live 9.6 / SOLVED..ish

Post by leighhunt » Thu Feb 04, 2016 6:18 pm

Stand easy everyone!
Weirdly, I fired up Live 9.2.1 in the meantime, (not with the same project).
The core library got a rescan as a result. I then lost interest, fired up 9.6 again, and hey presto, no more errors!
How weird is that?

So, if anyone else is struggling with control_surfaces paths, wiggle around a bit, press a few random keys and perform a few random operations on your computer and it 'may' just work again!

Hi there,
Is anyone else getting an error when trying to get the id for a control surface slot using live.path?

When sending the message 'path control_surfaces 0' (as a list) to a live.path object I get the error
live.path: component '0' is not an object

I'm convinced this was not happening in Live 9.5.
Any ideas anyone?

Thanks in advance.

Leigh

prebentious
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 12:07 am

Re: path to control_surfaces issue in Live 9.6 / SOLVED..ish

Post by prebentious » Fri Feb 05, 2016 5:30 pm

haven't tried with 9.6 but earlier I had to say 'control_surfaces 2' to get to the first slot. I'd love to have those hours of my life back

S4racen
Posts: 5359
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: path to control_surfaces issue in Live 9.6 / SOLVED..ish

Post by S4racen » Fri Feb 05, 2016 6:51 pm

This has been happening for a number of versions, it happens when control surfaces are disconnected and connected, you can't rely on the path...

Cheers
D

leighhunt
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:41 am
Location: London UK
Contact:

Re: path to control_surfaces issue in Live 9.6 / SOLVED..ish

Post by leighhunt » Fri Feb 05, 2016 8:06 pm

Ah, thanks for the heads up Darren!
Leigh

S4racen wrote:This has been happening for a number of versions, it happens when control surfaces are disconnected and connected, you can't rely on the path...

Cheers
D

Post Reply