Force Max to Quit

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
chapelier fou
Posts: 4927
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Force Max to Quit

Post by chapelier fou » Sun Mar 13, 2016 10:06 am

How many times a day do you have to force max to quit ?
When i work on my own devices, i'd say, 10 times a day.
Very often, Max won't open when i click on edit device. It seem to happen more often after the computer goes to sleep.
It happened on my former computer as well and with previous versions of Max and Live as well.
Generally i find M4L in edit mode quite unstable. No prob when using devices, though.
Maybe i should add that i mainly code applications for the monome, so maybe there is something to do with serialosc ?
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

jonbenderr
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2010 11:20 pm

Re: Force Max to Quit

Post by jonbenderr » Mon Mar 14, 2016 9:58 am

I have this issue a lot. It's quite annoying.

I've found the reason that you are sometimes unable to edit max patches when clicking the button after a force quit is that the old process hangs in the background. Don't know if you use mac or windows but you can see the max process still hanging out for a few minutes in task manager after a force quit.

You can't kill the process either.

It may very well be a controller thing because I've been experiencing it while working on my apc40 hacking.

Max might be unable to let go of the drivers for the controller which is why the process sticks around?

I know the Live software process used to hang around after a crash as well and I remember reading it's because the audio drivers are still active or some sort of nonsense.

Transcultur
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 5:11 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: Force Max to Quit

Post by Transcultur » Sun Mar 27, 2016 8:47 pm

Same here sometimes mates. Do you have also this issue?
viewtopic.php?f=35&t=220713

chapelier fou
Posts: 4927
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Force Max to Quit

Post by chapelier fou » Mon Mar 28, 2016 7:24 pm

Transcultur wrote:Same here sometimes mates. Do you have also this issue?
viewtopic.php?f=35&t=220713
Not here.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

Post Reply