Patch UI values not initialising: Best practice for init?

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
IMage_Engine
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 10:38 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Patch UI values not initialising: Best practice for init?

Post by IMage_Engine » Sat Jan 13, 2018 12:02 pm

Im having an issue whereby I manually bang values in subpatches and develop code...all runs fine. When I reopen the patches to work on them later, the Live UI values are not making to the right spots...as a newb, what is best practice for getting the values to init properly?
Whats more is that its inconsistent, some identical modules seem to have varying results as far as init goes.
Eg The Track and Scene groups were the first 2 I programmed, I copied the Track and updated the parameters etc and it just doesnt start with init values and I can only get it working if I manually bang in the subpatch.

What is best practice?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1PWJsyl ... sp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1PWJsyl ... sp=sharing

Image
Image

Cheers
Mark

doubleUG
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:19 am

Re: Patch UI values not initialising: Best practice for init?

Post by doubleUG » Sun Jan 14, 2018 7:48 am

use "live.thisdevice" instead of "loadbang"
copy the text, open Max/Msp > File > New form Clipboard
https://docs.cycling74.com/max5/vignett ... tches.html

https://soundcloud.com/doubleUG

IMage_Engine
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 10:38 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Patch UI values not initialising: Best practice for init?

Post by IMage_Engine » Sun Jan 14, 2018 8:17 pm

doubleUG wrote:use "live.thisdevice" instead of "loadbang"
Thank you @doubleUG...
Tough migrating from Pure Data...both have their strengths.

Post Reply