COUNTER: Why does it not count first click?

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
IMage_Engine
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 10:38 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

COUNTER: Why does it not count first click?

Post by IMage_Engine » Sat Jan 27, 2018 5:57 am

Have a simple counter from 0 - 7. The first click is not counted...why?

doubleUG
Posts: 163
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:19 am

Re: COUNTER: Why does it not count first click?

Post by doubleUG » Sat Jan 27, 2018 11:35 am


IMage_Engine
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 10:38 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: COUNTER: Why does it not count first click?

Post by IMage_Engine » Sun Jan 28, 2018 10:47 am

Here is the patch. Open it and bang once...shouldnt it output 1??

<pre><code>
----------begin_max5_patcher----------
364.3ocmS90aBCBD.+4Zx9NP34tkZsU21WkEigVu3vTgF5gqFy9tO3PTiqoS
2CE58+iebb7oII7JcOzwYuy9fkjbzoIgz40jDUjv2I5qaDcjibkcWEX3omr4
DkpF.IiSuRq1hQ04Q0c3gFfxx43CtgGZgPa3rv3UB0FNaYzG4ZJFc01mKJOG
Yq.q+Tp1rx.0XH3EEujkxlNO2uUl4Wyc+eISsBiXGffYEnDUgdIir88SS76t
sz6FEUVD0pGBESeDTLBFJFCCkz4eVIc9Khqrk+6CpB9xU0ykDgdpR7ZsU4fI
KiMaXJTNLEJdDJHUnelH94EGjI4Yixj4dN7FQiEWMYbCSBYl2HU+5cAkTuga
HUm1ZpiMarQXWMzsF5PoRfR2rxEu7SxrQuTt6B5mF96BFaqgOwh118fo6THg
Z4FB1pMd4EoAYoJHOKHaf8xXHg6Ttv3HO5vt0DtX6ecN+Tz50fQYkz6.mFpG
bK+.0OF.4A
-----------end_max5_patcher-----------
</code></pre>

doubleUG
Posts: 163
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:19 am

Re: COUNTER: Why does it not count first click?

Post by doubleUG » Sun Jan 28, 2018 11:33 am

<pre><code>
----------begin_max5_patcher----------
977.3oc0Y00aaBCE84To8e.wyYU9af8119YLUUQRrZoJAhHl1TUs+6ybMjFx
BDO.CZODbwf88bO9568f6Ge4tE9qxNJO368Mue4sXwG5dV.8U1yh5NV3uK93
5swGfWzec1tcxTk+xpGpjGUvCvdDOp9G9zi1GqV+bR5SOlKWqLVgyD2iV5IX
AkMXNBZBuG48P8nNndeqDlwSSTZwtjzsREf.7ooOWdPijXURVZql.Uc4y4WO
YYEp5YCU2cxFvlYqd4qjPenye+k6Ja0MKGN8f71jTBRMX8vdaydyacVQpRSY
OmX9ySiYaRpzzidfjNXy.L3ibMAxOwljnwjMaZhdwlQ8mMSkuomh+lL2mmno
te1UjlfAfUffFFEnFzXRMMsPenFJp+TypBkJKsy8ZDLrzEAMDV80QbqVCKbK
F.eMF3yrEl2T89doYx8WEm9ju2C8O3oX2JYdmLT.5L7Ws8omwHw4w6jJY9ix
z3UlwftE80v72h9HWi9HsSe9KGNEZQPFKD1eIXNKHqgE5UPF0gAYsjgBxeKy
KqG5Q6j.4DHHf.YnBH+6wf7qyDrqwDr1YhjxJPlvlxek2N.do05ffDAutXDL
xrhSEgCWjfE0mBbP0diXHy0ty.AkWoghIwU4+mHrASvQvFAZjyT1bgM5S8ab
vrHsAiYPZBpo76fz1XgSF5RQJXjIwGESbUAjKLQepffilSYJXjorPkCL45Tt
v98QnBAO2BUvn5jqb2En0vD8IPiPlOoJ3aIUQ6eUrFaBzpPnytVEm7M6F8dD
cnxfqrYQxagSp32IUbEmlRMa5njoPlCl4Dm1nlqpsy8IQv9CJeZ7VjqDg7iN
Oek.XIkZVRcrFDlSOmDtvnlh5rOgsgE5ScA9bp+Pf3mA+IW9QSy2G0GhY+TR
BAriiDNKDqgE5SHVv7o7.cyCIILvTzjOABOBmJcGcm886cVPEAe5GEYx9RbZ
1WpS+.vPC3iFd1WKjWOmoQIT7Ydp6Rid67gL9bmPjffydAKDSvpNiMmo15Lw
FAaB6IlDaH29EUngkYy.J3Sct7eZL3ZkO3Bt5PVQ95ZaTeBzdm4dajGTIoP0
ryeKTy2JKeiduUYPd6KTiMDHs.A7X.ApUPnBnSmOiawmIi.DHV4ykmzl6f.w
FHTCzIymIXGFpYIsG5vMbg1f.lCA.AYUz+bSAbGF5GXC.BGs.eq7WgKC6sZI
m3PFmYUJ2ZbNYtLiaIqWUsOd+9Wk4GplDi00RfdICFTvRy8Iol6ol6ykulTO
DiRD+3bs1GkV3SQtQNyQQkrL+cYZHjVjTiB.C5K+Ab2xokO
-----------end_max5_patcher-----------
</code></pre>

IMage_Engine
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 10:38 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: COUNTER: Why does it not count first click?

Post by IMage_Engine » Sun Jan 28, 2018 8:34 pm

Ok..so the counter is not interpreting 0 = origin or null but rather as a number. If I am at origin and I click once, then in human terms that would represent 1. So what is the origin state of the counter? There is no null value that I can see to register a count from? I just would have thought the first click actually does represent 1 else where is it counting from? I am struggling dealing with deviations from 30 years experience of coding in other languages...argh.

chapelier fou
Posts: 5234
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: COUNTER: Why does it not count first click?

Post by chapelier fou » Mon Jan 29, 2018 9:59 am

Sending the message "set $1" will set it's value without output.
So loadmess set 1 will force it to be at 1.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

IMage_Engine
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 10:38 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: COUNTER: Why does it not count first click?

Post by IMage_Engine » Mon Jan 29, 2018 10:50 am

chapelier fou wrote:Sending the message "set $1" will set it's value without output.
So loadmess set 1 will force it to be at 1.
Thanks for the workaround...I would still count it as a dysfunction?

chapelier fou
Posts: 5234
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: COUNTER: Why does it not count first click?

Post by chapelier fou » Mon Jan 29, 2018 12:15 pm

It's just how it works and how it's been working for.... years.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

IMage_Engine
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 10:38 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: COUNTER: Why does it not count first click?

Post by IMage_Engine » Mon Jan 29, 2018 8:46 pm

chapelier fou wrote:It's just how it works and how it's been working for.... years.
I'm just amazed no one questioned the logic...I guess it would need a backwards compatibility flag...but if I'm the only one that's noticed...I guess it doesn't matter but it really is illogical...but 0 + 1 = 1 ;-)
Thanks chapelier

Post Reply