Using CC to control macro knob via API

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
IMage_Engine
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 10:38 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Using CC to control macro knob via API

Post by IMage_Engine » Sat Jan 27, 2018 7:25 am

Im trying to emulate the simple process of mapping an absolute CC to a macro knob but using M4L via api.
The macro knob is the first knob in a chain...

What is the most elegant way to do this?

doubleUG
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:19 am

Re: Using CC to control macro knob via API

Post by doubleUG » Sat Jan 27, 2018 11:29 am

<pre><code>
----------begin_max5_patcher----------
2233.3ocyas0qiaaD94S.x+ABg.jV.2yp6WBBJZJ19vBj1sOj2VTXHaQayDI
RCI5yd1Dz9au7htaIJZuR9nGNGYPRwYluY3LCoF9Ge627jwNxqvBCvO.9D3o
m9CVKOIZi2xSUM7jQV7q6SiKDCzHCVTDeDZrorSJ7UpniuyttMxEZJjR+xYn
btML.+mp9vWxPXVuhYytp0ywz8mP3iayg6oxWxwJ7YyM.OOW9C6nm8X+27Yy
loBkHHLY2u9Wr7qIdA8KoB5ZXzhlRVRPTKQq+2u8a3OYO1nsrigelQrqE8LT
BhQ.iAkQKUxHSfXhkqqOWFcCDR5nxnq9xn4hHiEvTFqC9a6oo.SEZ6MM+gvT
kOFwvPEnYKwImvH9iHa0FF15CZgKBngviiTekHfk3gqoRyFu2xUFIvCv7Txm
ucWC0x+ABlVf9cw3s3hZq1wwYRA5mxQwoFJfLOKg0hmim3gkRHK5sDxRQu.e
ldBUj.eAsGNNxsKFe7FWMMqXoizvKPsWKG8wRm6FK2cgRI3Ifp6XgVoj5JCE
Yqdg1CIDjv5fMY7gUM2uDmWq79mw6yI+q7F0WNr.howTDCe5Js4r2gBy2Bww
6jrq0Pu00gjcBD.guXQjkWa3XvXAGRIwssMi2SYRQQJJAlumjRxki074H2HS
6Mre3D36FXw+EmBsIvvpN4LRyQhoyVNeB1iMWglNQ1CMWJT39A7nJ99WKgsT
31incqypoH9EXx1XJiwXVnvleUTphqzwbcX5EH4PU60czVQkhv+FWQ2Q16NB
B93XlBcFXwIRNUqQVoKGjdYLkgnyZWI85NVXLGNb2HLhxb0LfA3PCqVoVqK5
LpKrQUutKZzQzHuCJsh3UJ3jWPEnJdsb.kqha9wrGLfYmdRirsdrAR8CzHPp
i+iv6+naIgCb.dnzsxXof8wXBFsmYywTpLGbW2Psxt.7cVeEanQevF72IoI5
f3ldbeRNNpiBYG9Vl7hf8g4f+gbI85.+bbENycDVrgNJguvaIc4NDU52niS8
CnT3KLSodwdYwqNetU68b3mE+qxPhAM9fXPjrMml1xgbuQxovso43bF.PYR+
kbI2+puaKecYDVTW7ETOWX0rVCtYYFIiyKPLW1FsLK2pZiGXicGSI6+Mn..q
cxaPNCwHb+bOZ5m4lM9RJc6HZ4tC3P7d33utBigmLNliRHXN2zE+4sWQ2OIB
Ow+WKwRL.b74gdYlYBCiFq2Bl7doXWbdqPE108RIjzt807lovCzx9Oiv39XJ
kbVQu4nimT816HrdyTN8htJXgIkcuksXmtkmBSuAFmlVt7uGEdMFixhoPJRp
RrMa5UFi+TAKvaZZW4V10KC0kzs8mQIr.fbh0wBg8BnyU1VFMJ8DzQXAsWiz
3iE8Z5502r1trqbw7VJL6bJSZ5MhNGYVmEtscZ1sidNO2SxxfXZyhx1dP+Qv
6I3umBXYJd7HySZL3mY4..9o+8G.LeIrHTIH9Rzzu.PX.aAFyHr.BnjlHW.Q
tjr9Xg0R6PDVBjv8jKXZWOIikwfJGwSj4vX9hsbEmlmanLw5xcW0ImtdmeiU
mob.c1XG9UmbypCuceZrtg6TeDGSEvaVw6t96FAzCravbOwusBU.4A2NhaM6
H9DqQ9kK4XPFKLJSRADLfjCHGN7C.zA.h98Erl1.JfrUQmffO7dVeheIVI0r
N4ymP6OAPE.44ZBS3Ko3iiQ4KEajSVAehalreDk.L+qf+DlTQ9+7yiuFy8MY
MVoNVdbEVglU58Q031tqgEYcODGcNHG4ry2Vb2iQv1xyOZS6CTvzyLJbC3JO
MiqSF.XijGGfzEl7nPTtPJZMrPZ0ipRuS5ipgqATkRNdrY+MidfZlJg8NmX6
sCbVUmGoolHmyp2wt06LMdKbYFJ.Ookns6z.4pHoj0fMnDxBr0zBz1e0aB9g
2a7lknV0JZe2lO2fR7zeMXGtdgSY7ZeMASuUOX9Q76XIi91AnQs.T2oAT209
V2p1iMBfLlzK4layY4hsONoRPd76pc1d6vu8CE9OxOck6dWy1OHmwN1xO1M+
LjUh2VqgXapv6eOEjCONAhu4sE0KcqD3K+PyS6zdUXk26KP0E14mXv50Luzm
dIfKJGMKeUN0cV6l4kUol0TndU8yT8TkVv4g3ZuzkSYYGnbGH2QrUmYWKHvm
62z1TOeA9Zt4Bu6wxrcWU4dc06fvIvWWFC4EFBKsqzFBCVbHb9c9J4Eiuxi0
qbSWZ.R9l2QdsyicVquPI+blG66PIDR9.FA9JHWx2WYdUdRkfdBbBrfhv0e6
1O038mOR8Uh2LuDpKuvC8uv7Rft7B+fMVXdwSalIX44EmUjRphDSyLrLzYoE
rj7hq1.C2KxBCL7jD3x6zLSzigWzBXBWdd4VrWVVVoxugFdXVddQWVoRWtv7
hVVtKe7HqYZEcUGMEaUY8AKqmHUEG7MVqKSVVTiV1UGSI6hSKq.l5oPcIyzT
YMe8kAq7tOv2HWckciwjlJHyPVWgEuKAUH9QSM.H+B+0eI+5uDxyCVl7+Rb9
QHsWUJdNmPI7DuqGFA257VWlZo2sUsz6zopDiuPIYMhdaNYhisYjB.lCrkS1
GwJqXxnP94.3IyL1wRYUv6zbSvZ33JdFecIh9wVxwCpt4aWU7Co4UTZ7SN7J
kfspBfej5iGxj+JGHbTQ.XCWd62SsxORkxWbFBSRQY8pntUPgtmCyHT3+yXt
JMXioudoAxqdoen5qdo4Mb0KuUu6aOyKE3BJDuuWEgVjQHTNeWZCsbv+p4d5
4H+vFAlxpUScstGb+k5tb95tK5RHreFBU.40YFzM4swRhrcZACpyzmf7zhrm
jf9yKACljftyFA8zBQsmM5EoC8blO.MTKALX1nWf1VnVyB8zZEw7o9DZFqon
WEnOGDzTGATPvVrEIOQd6PLeXrPOEQMGXMGbvMv.y.4rC0gdQyG8zxFNbP5U
FVo286QPp92qm92omAtOOJtKOWcOdD7.6e+e.l8fMIC
-----------end_max5_patcher-----------
</code></pre>

IMage_Engine
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 10:38 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Using CC to control macro knob via API

Post by IMage_Engine » Sat Jan 27, 2018 11:32 am

Thanks
I did copy that already from the other thread. The prob is Im controlling from an independent track. I think I have it but its always good to see how the gurus do it ;-)

doubleUG
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:19 am

Re: Using CC to control macro knob via API

Post by doubleUG » Sat Jan 27, 2018 12:44 pm

you can take the expression control from Packs>Max for Live Essentials > "Expression Control.amxd"
or "Max Api CtrlMIDIcc.amxd" from the M4L Building Tools

IMage_Engine
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 10:38 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Using CC to control macro knob via API

Post by IMage_Engine » Sat Jan 27, 2018 8:41 pm

doubleUG wrote:you can take the expression control from Packs>Max for Live Essentials > "Expression Control.amxd"
or "Max Api CtrlMIDIcc.amxd" from the M4L Building Tools
Thanks...great idea. I ended buying Julien Bayle's zen guide which helped a lot too

EDIT: Thanks @DoubleUG...excellent place to start for anyone interested...Max Api CtrlMIDIcc.amxd

IMage_Engine
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 10:38 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Using CC to control macro knob via API

Post by IMage_Engine » Sun Jan 28, 2018 8:37 pm

Also need to note, the best application of smoothing so far is in the Max Api CtrMIDIcc. Would be good if a lot of these tools were modularised in audio/midi only versions maybe?

Post Reply