How to display pictures (photos, etc)

Learn about building and using Max for Live devices.
Montxo Garcia

How to display pictures (photos, etc)

Post by Montxo Garcia » Sun Feb 11, 2018 11:52 am

Hello,
I am new with ABLETON. I need to display diferent photos, drawings, etc at specific times while Ableton Live is running. For example, display PICTURE 1 at minute 2:00 or with a specific SCENE, the display PICTURE 2 at minute 3:00 and so on.
Any help is appreciatted. I have seen that there are several tools for video but none for simple images.

Thand ina dvance.
Montxo
Spain

Montxo Garcia

Re: How to display pictures (photos, etc)

Post by Montxo Garcia » Tue Feb 13, 2018 3:09 pm

Any expert user who can help me in this simple issue? Any idea on how I can put some pictures while my music is playing?
THanks.

Montxo

S4racen

Post by S4racen » Tue Feb 13, 2018 4:41 pm

Montxo Garcia wrote:simple issue?
Not a simple issue, would need programming in something like MaxforLive, or maybe there's a VST that does this... Not seen anything like it before, generally it's not what Live is used for... Not to say it's wrong...

Cheers
D

Montxo Garcia

Post by Montxo Garcia » Wed Feb 14, 2018 12:44 pm

Hi S4,
thanks for the reply.
I was thinking that this requested functions is a feature very used and basic for an application for live scenarios ( and more for one which works with video files)
I will try to find a way to do this "images display" solution.
My alternative is to create a video file with "still images", but it is less effective and requires additional effort & job.
Thanks.

S4racen

Post by S4racen » Wed Feb 14, 2018 12:52 pm

Seen plenty of people do visuals that react to audio.... Not seen anyone use still images..

Cheers
D

hoffman2k

Post by hoffman2k » Wed Feb 14, 2018 12:55 pm

Nothing prevents you to make a still into a single frame video. Or multiple images into a video where you jump to specific points.