All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Dub Machines bug in oversampling (Live 10)
PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 8:41 am 

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:10 am
Posts: 198
I just noticed Dub Machines m4l weird bug. Not happening in Live 9 with different M4L version so my guess it's because of new M4l.

Bug description: switching oversampling values gives me different echo and or reverb decays. Value x1 and x2 are fine but when i press x4 then i have longer delay feedback. Anyone else?

Example preset from Insert - Cathedral(Move mode selector to 2) - on Oversampling x4 there is longer delay line then on x2. Definitely not subtle - try on single bassdrum.

Try preset After Drive. Different sounding on oversampling x4 then on x2. I am awarewhat oversampling does but there should not be such difference and in Live 9 it is not.

Also there are some graphical interface glitches in Mode Selector when Magnetic is loaded in Live 10...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dub Machines bug in oversampling (Live 10)
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 3:09 am 
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Posts: 1201
Location: Ableton
No delay time difference here with the Cathedral preset.
AfterDrive sounds what saturated on x4 oversampling, I agree it sounds a bit radical, not sure if it's intended or not though.
Yeah there's a GUI bug with the mode selector.
Did you try contacting the developers?

_________________
Ableton Forum Moderator


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dub Machines bug in oversampling (Live 10)
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 6:15 am 

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:10 am
Posts: 198
[jur] wrote:
No delay time difference here with the Cathedral preset.
AfterDrive sounds what saturated on x4 oversampling, I agree it sounds a bit radical, not sure if it's intended or not though.
Yeah there's a GUI bug with the mode selector.
Did you try contacting the developers?


Definitely different sound here. Not subtle. It's not intended AFAIK and in Live 9 is working ok and differently then in Live 10.

I did not contacted them directly as i know they are browsing this forum but you have a point there - i will send them email about issue and this thread.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dub Machines bug in oversampling (Live 10)
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 12:18 pm 
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Posts: 1201
Location: Ableton
Forgot to ask if you're using the latest version... just in case.

_________________
Ableton Forum Moderator


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dub Machines bug in oversampling (Live 10)
PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 11:10 pm 
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Posts: 1201
Location: Ableton
Have you found an explanation to your issue?

_________________
Ableton Forum Moderator


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dub Machines bug in oversampling (Live 10)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2018 3:11 pm 

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am
Posts: 7055
maky355 wrote:
Example preset from Insert - Cathedral(Move mode selector to 2) - on Oversampling x4 there is longer delay line then on x2. Definitely not subtle - try on single bassdrum.

I hear no difference in decay time. A copied track with the x4 setting doesn't null with the original, but this is to be expected.

maky355 wrote:
Try preset After Drive. Different sounding on oversampling x4 then on x2. I am awarewhat oversampling does but there should not be such difference and in Live 9 it is not.

In the x4 setting I hear a distortion, quite beautiful to my ears, not present in x1 or x2. Is this what you mean? I'm not sure this is unintended, but you really need to ask Surreal Machines about this.

maky355 wrote:
Also there are some graphical interface glitches in Mode Selector when Magnetic is loaded in Live 10...

What are those glitches specifically?

_________________
Make some music!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dub Machines bug in oversampling (Live 10)
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 12:31 pm 

Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 3:34 pm
Posts: 21
Location: germany
maky355 wrote:
What are those glitches specifically?


Try the Demo Set "Dub Machines Demo Song". There's a bunch of automation going on that slows down the GUI; after a couple of seconds the hole program freezes and you have to force quit. :?
At least on my system...

_________________
Specs: iMac (27", late 2013), i7 3.5 GHz; 32 GB 1600 DDR3, 256 SSD, NVIDIA GeForde GTX 780M 4GB, 2x1 TB SSD Samsung 840 EVO in Akitio Neutrino Thunder Duo;


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group