All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: M4L, control any parameter, at least 24 Macros?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2018 8:05 am 

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:42 pm
Posts: 371
I found a neat little M4L device to control any parameter in live (Honey Mapper) it works with the MIDI effect rack, which has it's limitations with push2 as I'll explain. I then lock the MIDI effect rack to push2. The problem is, I wan't more than 8 macro's locked to the device, I wan't at least 24 ( which i want to scroll through or select "banks" or something like that).

Does such a device exist, is it even possible?

Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: M4L, control any parameter, at least 24 Macros?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2018 10:54 am 

Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Posts: 14637
Location: Belgium
Use 3 racks of them. Instead of pressing a button to change banks, you just select another rack.
The whole point of Honey Mapper is to use the existing functions of the racks, because MFL is essentially broken when it comes to control mapping. There's live.banks now, but that is just another workaround with the same broken core.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: M4L, control any parameter, at least 24 Macros?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2018 1:08 pm 

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:42 pm
Posts: 371
Hi hoffman2k,

Thanks for the reply, yes that works, the problem comes when I lock the MIDI effect rack to push2, this is the issue I'm having. You can only lock one set of macros (unless I'm missing something) no matter how many other effect racks you have inside the rack( or outside).

Hence I'm looking for a device with alot more than 8 macros.

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: M4L, control any parameter, at least 24 Macros?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2018 2:39 pm 

Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Posts: 14637
Location: Belgium
McAnix wrote:
Hi hoffman2k,

Thanks for the reply, yes that works, the problem comes when I lock the MIDI effect rack to push2, this is the issue I'm having. You can only lock one set of macros (unless I'm missing something) no matter how many other effect racks you have inside the rack( or outside).

Hence I'm looking for a device with alot more than 8 macros.

Thanks.


Ah yes, locking is a different matter. There are several devices to allow 16 and more macros, but then you get undo history flooding and unpredictable behavior. There's always a trade-off.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: M4L, control any parameter, at least 24 Macros?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2018 3:23 pm 

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:42 pm
Posts: 371
Would you mind providing links to those or names even would be cool? I tried "Sixteen Macros 2.0" from covort op but it's macros aren't visible on push2.

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: M4L, control any parameter, at least 24 Macros?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2018 3:43 pm 

Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Posts: 4928
Location: Dunstable
McAnix wrote:
it's macros aren't visible on push2.


No MaxforLive device can provide this feature. It is only natively supported by Instrument and Audio Effect Racks both of which are limited to 8 macros.

Cheers
D

_________________
www.isotonikstudios.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: M4L, control any parameter, at least 24 Macros?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2018 3:49 pm 

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:42 pm
Posts: 371
Dang......

If there was just a way to lock an entire track's device view to push2, that would be so amazing!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: M4L, control any parameter, at least 24 Macros?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2018 7:49 pm 

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:42 pm
Posts: 371
Okay so just forgetting about the lock screen situation, what M4L parameter controllers would you guys recommend, Honey Mapper and Sixteen Macros 2.0 are great but what other devices are out there?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: M4L, control any parameter, at least 24 Macros?
PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 6:59 pm 

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 7:23 pm
Posts: 1341
Location: Leamington Spa, UK
I am currently really enjoying MultiMapper32 V2.7

4 banks of 8 macros (you can rename them but the new names do not show up on Push), 16 presets, XY morpher between first 4 presets, customizable curves/MSEGs for each macro.

So far it's been really great especially if I have a complex Soundtoys rack setup on a group track, and I need to switch to certain configurations with the press of a button using the presets you can easily make by SHIFT_clicking one of the 16 preset blocks.

Unless there's some way I'm not aware of to switch a live default rack's 8 macros to any particular configuration that are in a group channel without using arrangement automation, this seems pretty great. Hmm I guess I could copy however many "presets" i need and stack them in parallel in a master group's chains and control them from there with default macros, making sure only one chain is active at a given moment.....gonna try this now actually.

regardless, Multimapper32 - so far so good!

EDIT - ah yes and it also has 4 Master (A B C D) knobs - A would turn all 8 macros in bank A simultaneously, B all in bank B etc. Also, the default mapping for Push is pretty good, nothing missing.

_________________
artstation
soundcloud
youtube


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: M4L, control any parameter, at least 24 Macros?
PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2018 6:32 am 

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:42 pm
Posts: 371
tedlogan wrote:
I am currently really enjoying MultiMapper32 V2.7



Thank you! This device is incredible! Once the device is locked to push the banks are still accessible which blows my mind! Alas naming macros is not available, but that has to do with it not being a native device, I see the programmer had to use something more than M4L (probably Max) just to make the macro's even visible which in it's self is really a great thing.

Thank you so much!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: M4L, control any parameter, at least 24 Macros?
PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:40 pm 

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 7:23 pm
Posts: 1341
Location: Leamington Spa, UK
McAnix wrote:
tedlogan wrote:
I am currently really enjoying MultiMapper32 V2.7



Thank you! This device is incredible! Once the device is locked to push the banks are still accessible which blows my mind! Alas naming macros is not available, but that has to do with it not being a native device, I see the programmer had to use something more than M4L (probably Max) just to make the macro's even visible which in it's self is really a great thing.

Thank you so much!


A pleasure! I just discovered this a few days ago myself - so far no errors in recalling presets and so on.

Cheers

_________________
artstation
soundcloud
youtube


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group