All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: another softstep 2/Looper question
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2018 11:02 am 

Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 1912
Location: stoke newington in london
hi - i been using my softstep with a MFL patch for ages now to navigate my live session and record and trigger midi loops with my midi bass which i record into clips in the session and it all works fine.

recently i've started to use a different instrument and a different approach - i've never used the Looper before and i want to set up four audio tracks with Loopers on them so that i can record audio loops coming in from my new Berimbau ( 8) :wink: :) )

can i ask any other softstep 2 users how they set up the softstep for live audio looping with Loopers? i'm having poor luck so far, as an experiment i've tried setting up one of the softstep pedals to send a 'foot on' CC when pressed and i've assigned it to the big button on the Looper, but it doesn't want to work properly - i just want it to Record, Play, Stop and Clear on each push of one pedal, but it seems to need two taps to get it to start recording and then wants to overdub but i don't want it to do that (it does this even when i've selected play after record in the Looper settings). should i be sending something else instead of a CC?

can anyone give me any examples or point me in the right direction? does anyone have a MFL patch they could share with me? i've checked on maxforlive.com and the ones there all seem pretty complex and not what i'm after

thanks for any help

_________________
http://www.slatepipe.co.uk

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: another softstep 2/Looper question
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2018 12:48 pm 

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:42 pm
Posts: 371
I'm not using any M4L devices and I have SS 1 but the concept should be the same:

1. Live MIDI pref : Input SS Share ONLY remote input on, no out. SS Advance editor Output -> SS Share.
2. SS mapping to big button on looper(advanced editor): Mode: None. Source : Foot on. Table : Linear. Message Type CC. LED green true.
3. SS Mapping little stop button: Same as prev.
4.SS Mapping undo and clear, Same again.

Record x bars then 'play button' (somehow the big button goes to overdub next but that's my setup).

I've been checking out the Guitar Rig looper, haven't gigged with it yet but I like it way more. I can leave the window open and no matter what track I select I always have visual feedback over the looper and it quantize's much nicer than Live's looper.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: another softstep 2/Looper question
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2018 12:59 pm 

Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 1912
Location: stoke newington in london
hey thanks, i'll check this later

one thing i noticed is that you have Table:Linear. i think i have it set to Toggle. maybe that's where i'm going wrong? everything else i have set the same

_________________
http://www.slatepipe.co.uk

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: another softstep 2/Looper question
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2018 1:10 pm 

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:42 pm
Posts: 371
Yup pretty sure that's it.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group