All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Windows Virtual MIDI
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2019 6:16 pm 

Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Posts: 14652
Location: Belgium
I'm a bit out of the loop here. What is currently considered the most reliable and user-friendly virtual MIDI solution on Windows?
Also, is App initialization order still an issue for availability of ports? I'm only experiencing issues with Live to be honest, but I haven't tried all the MIDI drivers/Apps yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows Virtual MIDI
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2019 6:29 pm 

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 7:41 am
Posts: 439
I'm using loopMIDI. No problems so far.

_________________
home | sound | twitter | m4l
Windows 10 64bit - Live 10.0.1 - M4L 8 - RME Babyface/iConnectAUDIO4+


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows Virtual MIDI
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2019 6:39 pm 

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 2:31 pm
Posts: 4
Yes! loopmidi. I`ve tried a few in the past.
it`s also 64 bit, and it works. Currently I have up to six virtual midi instances in my setup.
I`m also using the network midi driver (rtpmidi).

_________________
(Windows 10 64bit, LIVE9 Suite 64bit, Bidule 64bit, Komplete 12,Kore2, Fujitsu Celsius H760 Core i5-6440HQ, 64 Gb RAM, RME Multiface/Digiface)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows Virtual MIDI
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2019 6:52 pm 

Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Posts: 14652
Location: Belgium
Thanks, I thought I tried Loopmidi but confused it with LoopBe1.
This is very nice indeed! Even works with hot-plugging new ports while Live is open and I can use custom names.

How is RTPMIDI working out for you Silentio?
Been wondering if I could just wire it into MFL for unrestricted MIDI. Guess I'll have a look :)
Edit: nevermind. Same as on OSX, talking to bonjour MIDI with MFL is an unstable mess.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows Virtual MIDI
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2019 7:12 pm 

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 2:31 pm
Posts: 4
I`ve also tried LoopBe but experienced errors.
I use rtpmidi for sending midi data from LIVE over network to another PC with BIDULE (modular vst-host), very stable so far.
The setup of rtpmidi (on all PCs in the network) is not as easy as with loopmidi, but it`s well explained from the author.

_________________
(Windows 10 64bit, LIVE9 Suite 64bit, Bidule 64bit, Komplete 12,Kore2, Fujitsu Celsius H760 Core i5-6440HQ, 64 Gb RAM, RME Multiface/Digiface)


Last edited by silentio246 on Tue Jan 08, 2019 4:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows Virtual MIDI
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2019 7:42 pm 

Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Posts: 14652
Location: Belgium
silentio246 wrote:
I`ve also tried LoopBe but experienced errors, and it is 32bit only.
I use rtpmidi for sending midi data from LIVE over network to another PC with BIDULE (modular vst-host), very stable so far.
The setup of rtpmidi (on all PCs in the network) is not as easy as with loopmidi, but it`s well explained from the author.


Yeah, network MIDI does work properly if both host and client have the entire bonjour functionality. I never could get reliable results on the local network with Max, because there's this whole timestamp handshake mess involved that went over my head. Misfiring a message could make the OSX kernel crash.

I'll give Loopmidi a whirl, seems to work perfect for my purposes so far.
Thanks for the replies guys.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group