The selected Max application could not be loaded (Windows)

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
geantbrun
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 12:56 pm

The selected Max application could not be loaded (Windows)

Post by geantbrun » Sun Jan 06, 2019 7:57 pm

Hi,
Just tried to install Max For Live on Live 9 (Windows 7 - 64 bit). After installation, I set the path of Max application in the Preferences (c:/Program Files/Cycling '74/Max 7). When I go now to Max For Live Categories in Live, it shows Max Audio Effect, Max Instrument and Max MIDI Effect. When I try to click on one of these it always displays at the bottom something like "The selected Max application could not be loaded. A 32-bit version is probably required - Download Max from ableton.com or Configure the Max path in the preferences". My system is 64-bit. Do I really need to reinstall 32-bit version?
Thank you for your help,
Patrick

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 1559
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: The selected Max application could not be loaded (Windows)

Post by [jur] » Sun Jan 06, 2019 9:37 pm

Make sure that both Live and Max are BOTH 32 or 64 bit.
Ableton Forum Moderator

geantbrun
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 12:56 pm

Re: The selected Max application could not be loaded (Windows)

Post by geantbrun » Thu Jan 10, 2019 12:18 am

You're right, I didn't realize that I had a 32-bit version of Live.
Thank you for your help!
Best regards,
Patrick

Post Reply