Routing question

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
stuckonon
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 4:01 am

Routing question

Post by stuckonon » Mon Mar 18, 2019 11:35 pm

Hi,

Weird routing question here. I am using the surround panner, and trying to monitor an eventual 8 channel setup in quad for testing. Natively, my quad system is Ch 1-L, Ch 2-R, Ch3-Ls, and Ch 4-Rs. I would love to set it up so that the side channels in the 8 channel setup (3&4 and 7&8) output to their respective sides on my quad setup- so 3&4 (8 channel) would output to 2&4 (quad), and 7&8 (8 channel) would output to 1&3 (quad). I am running into a problem where Ableton wants to route things in stereo and wants to keep channels 1&2, 3&4, etc. as pairs. Does anyone know of a max4live patch or anything that would allow me to break up these stereo pairs and send each side individually to its own out?

Thanks!

chapelier fou
Posts: 4861
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Routing question

Post by chapelier fou » Tue Mar 19, 2019 12:06 pm

Route the pairs to Return channels, and select mono outputs from them ?
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

stuckonon
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 4:01 am

Re: Routing question

Post by stuckonon » Tue Mar 19, 2019 7:45 pm

Thanks. That works!

Post Reply