Need M4L Device to change tempo on each track

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Udo Behm
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm
Location: Germany

Need M4L Device to change tempo on each track

Post by Udo Behm » Fri Jul 19, 2019 12:42 pm

Hi there,

is there anybody able creating a very small Max4Live Device for me that is able to change the overall Live tempo?
What I need is a Device that does exactly two things: I can enter the destination tempo and as soon as the track's arm button becomes activated the overall tempo of Live should become that tempo. Once the same device with other tempo information is inserted in another track, Live's tempo should become that tempo when the other track's arm button gets activated...

Hope that someone is able creating such a Device for me and can send it to my eMail: maxforudo@outlook.com

Thanks!

S4racen
Posts: 5169
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Need M4L Device to change tempo on each track

Post by S4racen » Fri Jul 19, 2019 1:16 pm

No.

Cheers
D

chapelier fou
Posts: 4912
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Need M4L Device to change tempo on each track

Post by chapelier fou » Sat Jul 20, 2019 10:44 am

Can you explain how/why it would be used ?
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

Udo Behm
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Need M4L Device to change tempo on each track

Post by Udo Behm » Sat Jul 20, 2019 11:18 am

Sure. My idea is to make one track for a whole song. So switching to another track would change the song and therefore the tempo. I need the tempo changes for my synthesizers inside these tracks, that they adopt to the correct tempo... Are you able creating that device for me?

chapelier fou
Posts: 4912
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Need M4L Device to change tempo on each track

Post by chapelier fou » Sat Jul 20, 2019 12:40 pm

Why not use a scene per song and edit the scenes’ time signatures then ?
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

Udo Behm
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Need M4L Device to change tempo on each track

Post by Udo Behm » Sat Jul 20, 2019 1:39 pm

Cause I just play live with the instruments and can not using clips or scenes at all. Also, I do not know how to change tempo through scenes. How does that work? Is it not possible to change the tempo by a Max4Live Device to a certain value?

chapelier fou
Posts: 4912
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Need M4L Device to change tempo on each track

Post by chapelier fou » Sat Jul 20, 2019 4:01 pm

Section 7.2 in the manual will greatly help you, then.
Going the M4L way is often not needed, and most of the things can be achieved with "plain" Live.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

Udo Behm
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Need M4L Device to change tempo on each track

Post by Udo Behm » Sat Jul 20, 2019 4:15 pm

Hmm, doesn't say how to change tempo for each scene though...

chapelier fou
Posts: 4912
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Need M4L Device to change tempo on each track

Post by chapelier fou » Sat Jul 20, 2019 5:35 pm

The French manual does.
Name a scene 128 BPM and it will set the Global Tempo to...

..... 128 BPM
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

Udo Behm
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Need M4L Device to change tempo on each track

Post by Udo Behm » Sat Jul 20, 2019 5:40 pm

Ah, that's good to know. Still it doesn't solve my problem. The thing I want to do is to go from track to track, which contain all the settings for a whole song for me. Starting scenes would mean extra clicks and extra time that I do not have...
Could you create a small M4L device that dies that job and send it to my email?

chapelier fou
Posts: 4912
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Need M4L Device to change tempo on each track

Post by chapelier fou » Sat Jul 20, 2019 7:48 pm

I could, but I'm convinced that you could sort it out without the need of M4L, and I don't want to waste my time. Your workflow seems a bit weird to me and I can't see any need for such a device.
I strongly encourage you to try to make it work with "vanilla" Live.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

Udo Behm
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Need M4L Device to change tempo on each track

Post by Udo Behm » Sat Jul 20, 2019 7:55 pm

But why??

I'm using Native Instrument plugins and a Komplete Kontrol keyboard... this gives me the option to quickly switch through tracks... the arm button of each track automatically gets activated when switching... so therefore such a device would be exactly what I need... I can just switch to another track that becomes activated automatically and this device would change the tempo... if I also have to switch the scene it might become confusing if you do that on stage... Is it so much effort creating such a small device??

chapelier fou
Posts: 4912
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Need M4L Device to change tempo on each track

Post by chapelier fou » Sat Jul 20, 2019 8:35 pm

Open an empty audio M4L device, copy/paste the code, right click somewhere on the patch (not on an object), click "open in presentation", save the device.


<pre><code>
----------begin_max5_patcher----------
1108.3ocyX0zaiaCD8r8uBBA2atFhhRxV8V+.nWZA5gdaQgAsLiM2JQJPQ6j
zEa+sWxgRdiSnrUVyjsG7GhZDm483LCeheZ5jnMxGXsQne.8AzjIeZ5jIvP1
Alzc8jnZ5CkUzVvrnRYcMSnil6tml8fFFukoQ587VjlU2HQ2umI5tVQK+aj4
OTUMa6bTSEi1x5e9JtfUJOHfIIoavFEq03CplKEqOyhTeVnXkZGDHKWjjMGk
krHdNZYg86L7hXze08X7sPrJ27wuOcYeHHNTyEULMfOrGG7zwMFKOn6sNt2Z
ptbOWr6IgRRJDDDRl8GbVr8mjBavXelOOcp8q4ij0Er6MA8KH8sr6XpJ48Qd
vW1Ew243.eAbDCQdZGa5fQ7S3T2znerg4dfnnuJDVyZao6X9yqfTpYXevL1K
LSd0vLMGvWRJj57lAyAVHq3GYKL2vFOuDjjUgEjE.7vIIiBkc2pkdjscsKFW
S0ZEeyAsq2wjSfcRz5Flpk2pYhRXNvv3.KERtxft8H6+VaRP7QYKeEo+jgoL
RJj2mlA4EqJFAiMu6SHyO3BufLOL4E3X.cowPupkjEYWCj13Ij3SYZvuE4q.
mPBDFyVYgEIO2sd9VUfCYmlnxZU2LejpDzZ1P2df8xRwP7RrAZND63L+akQN
0CrgpLNRyTqYB5lJ1yR4+Z2lK45zpaaNOwo25i6pjT8yasbpmxE5tbjVcfIu
qe39weJx6cU2dymcuCBttU+niXJFx.fX+NNZSScjGapM7HvJ1tnu71URwtKr
b+rohB4REEEdmq18Rk16j4r00VMncWaYUdqCSJdE0gWJgw0jgPf8fH3qWGtg
J1E7FpZzFTkOXl+J123h0E.xvEEc59xdag4PxmZTRyFx5Gspu8A2P0c0spl3
5q9sR9TKScjo7ASbPSdSbhgWlc8U0tUz+Wpgx95YaYG4kLOTFNInBnxVBL1x
wWtCRdBuRiSpG8gYbXvbeweN.2z2bQiCU7OCilkflQPyR8g13Porxg1TnpOG
+NW6+6o+1BZCewuxz+oIg9moBofWRq9EHy9O7uRSByKG2C83UvOqV9Ni8lpC
6Ld3e80x6hKt2IE5V9+35tbRGy.MBsFeRDxOp3zJzOIq1FMLujtpq+nsxmbc
RokajLUYK.59WnIItvGGg+1yQjzvvQvyAml1yNMOvy1wOm3ZkGTk8Sc+4Eg9
h62xZ0bwo2K3Ce4zVPCcBVi1SwivS1i73l8j8P.Fmmv2pmxGC6kEBLQFClxC
AlF05DIDXZDNBGhTO6KwLNx6l8zXRHRHgxS3q4Ib.RHRFy5D3oaFS3w3oh.3
IqL2qmQbdeDoZq4sLrGwv6fq86Y7s44QQugnL.OldH3PjxLJHEH+fGgevd1d
l1zbz9lcNiAWXTv7QIrjtZNbIW3tDjaDoLhX6sGjZDQUFgDZiJhCJmXiGxch
6ipkljCwAdW9gAbFWBpirBSZanNb.hnl94o+GBDthOA
-----------end_max5_patcher-----------
</code></pre>
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

Udo Behm
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Need M4L Device to change tempo on each track

Post by Udo Behm » Sun Jul 21, 2019 7:43 am

Hi, thanks a lot. Unfortunately I cannot save the device so it stays in presentation mode. I can see how it looks when I click on "View" and choose "Presentation". But as soon as I save and load it in Live I only see the construction of your device as it looks when I paste the code (this is also shown in Live). How can I save the presentation as device and use it??
Maybe u want to send me the device via eMail to maxforudo@outlook.com??

Can you also save it as a MIDI Max4Live Device?? Thanks!

Udo Behm
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Need M4L Device to change tempo on each track

Post by Udo Behm » Sun Jul 21, 2019 7:53 am

Nevermind! I found out how to set it!

Thanks a lot!!! That's exactly what I was looking for and it even works as a MIDI M4L device!! Thanks

Post Reply