Accelerometer to Select Audio Track

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
wiggle
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 12:22 am
Location: Tokyo, LA
Contact:

Accelerometer to Select Audio Track

Post by wiggle » Sun Aug 04, 2019 6:38 am

Hi, I'm trying to use an accelerometer to select which audio track gets played.
(For example when the accelerometer is tilted left, it will play the audio from Track 1, middle = Track 2, right = Track 3, etc.)

Is there any way to do this within Ableton Live, or would I have to route the audio to Max, and then have Max select the track according to the accelerometer values?
-wgl

chapelier fou
Posts: 4915
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Accelerometer to Select Audio Track

Post by chapelier fou » Sun Aug 04, 2019 3:21 pm

What accelerometer do you use and what is it connected to ?
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

wiggle
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 12:22 am
Location: Tokyo, LA
Contact:

Re: Accelerometer to Select Audio Track

Post by wiggle » Sun Aug 04, 2019 4:20 pm

Wave (Genki Instruments,) connected via Bluetooth. It's visible in Ableton and Max.
-wgl

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 1635
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Accelerometer to Select Audio Track

Post by [jur] » Sun Aug 04, 2019 7:15 pm

Did you look at the Connection Kit?
Ableton Forum Moderator

wiggle
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 12:22 am
Location: Tokyo, LA
Contact:

Re: Accelerometer to Select Audio Track

Post by wiggle » Sun Aug 04, 2019 11:13 pm

>Did you look at the Connection Kit?

Yes. I have no problems connecting my device. I'm just trying to do something unconventional with it.

I'm hoping to select the track that is audible, depending on the position of the accelerometer.
-wgl

chapelier fou
Posts: 4915
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Accelerometer to Select Audio Track

Post by chapelier fou » Mon Aug 05, 2019 8:06 am

Well, according to their website, it sends MIDI CCs, right ?
What you could do is grab the CCs generated from Tilt movements, and use them in a Max For Live device to select tracks.
You'd have to write this device, of course.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

wiggle
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 12:22 am
Location: Tokyo, LA
Contact:

Re: Accelerometer to Select Audio Track

Post by wiggle » Tue Aug 06, 2019 7:10 am

Yes, it sends Midi CCs.

So I am trying to do this:
1. Set up 4 stereo channels in Ableton that play simultaneously.
2. Route these 4 channels to Max.
3. In Max, set up a gate that routes the audio (according to the accelerometer values) to the main audio out.

(I'm currently stuck on step 2 - still trying to find the best way to route the audio from Ableton to Max.)

Does anyone have a better solution?
-wgl

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 1635
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Accelerometer to Select Audio Track

Post by [jur] » Tue Aug 06, 2019 8:43 am

Imho it'll be easier and lighter to control each track's volume fader rather than implementing gates. You could even easily crossfade between tracks with this method.
Ableton Forum Moderator

wiggle
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 12:22 am
Location: Tokyo, LA
Contact:

Re: Accelerometer to Select Audio Track

Post by wiggle » Thu Aug 08, 2019 4:42 am

Thanks for the advice.

I've been trying my hand to make a max for live device. I forgot to mention that I'm trying to use 2 controllers, but Ableton can only deal with one of them (they send the same messages.) I've already maxed out the mappings on the one controller, and have to use another program to select the audio track.
-wgl

Post Reply