live.thisdevice : "Cannot find URI"

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
chapelier fou
Posts: 5223
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

live.thisdevice : "Cannot find URI"

Post by chapelier fou » Thu Sep 03, 2020 5:50 pm

I recently had this message quite a lot on my new macbook pro. What does it mean ?
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

chapelier fou
Posts: 5223
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: live.thisdevice : "Cannot find URI"

Post by chapelier fou » Thu Sep 03, 2020 5:55 pm

Well, it seems to be related to some versions of Convolution Reverb.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2221
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: live.thisdevice : "Cannot find URI"

Post by [jur] » Thu Sep 03, 2020 7:45 pm

Let us know if you find more about it.
thx
Ableton Forum Moderator

chapelier fou
Posts: 5223
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: live.thisdevice : "Cannot find URI"

Post by chapelier fou » Thu Sep 03, 2020 8:01 pm

I was working on older livesets, from two or three years ago after migrating to a new laptop. They were using an older version of CR that was collected and saved for the transfer. The good news is that if you drop the newest one to replace the old one, it loads with the correct settings and IR.
(crossing fingers to not stumble across the parameter reload bug, but that's another story...ableton support gave up with me after several emails...I don't feel the issue is taken seriously)
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2221
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: live.thisdevice : "Cannot find URI"

Post by [jur] » Sun Sep 06, 2020 6:22 pm

chapelier fou wrote:
Thu Sep 03, 2020 8:01 pm
I don't feel the issue is taken seriously)
It is actually.
Ableton Forum Moderator

chapelier fou
Posts: 5223
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: live.thisdevice : "Cannot find URI"

Post by chapelier fou » Sun Sep 06, 2020 7:19 pm

[jur] wrote:
Sun Sep 06, 2020 6:22 pm
chapelier fou wrote:
Thu Sep 03, 2020 8:01 pm
I don't feel the issue is taken seriously)
It is actually.
Well, I didn’t have any news since the last time I talked to them, it was three weeks ago at least, and I had the impression that I was misunderstood (mainly for language reasons) and that they got sick of talking with me. That’s frustrating. If only I found a reproductible scenario to show the bug. And trust me, I even captured my computer screen for more than one hour making incremental saved versions of a liveset hoping that it will occur. Just to prove them I wasn’t tripping. Without luck.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2221
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: live.thisdevice : "Cannot find URI"

Post by [jur] » Sun Sep 06, 2020 11:27 pm

Support is still quite underwhelmed thanks to the COVID, but the issue is filled. The "old" CR doesn't suffer from this problem afaik, so I'd suggest to use it instead (the changes are only cosmetic, really)
Ableton Forum Moderator

chapelier fou
Posts: 5223
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: live.thisdevice : "Cannot find URI"

Post by chapelier fou » Mon Sep 07, 2020 7:18 am

Well, I've been given some details about the problem that are referenced with the new CR, and none of them were specifically the problems I encounter. They look very similar, though.

Here is the list of bugs I've been given by the support :

"This is to summarize the known issues with the Convolution Reverb:
A problem with the encryption of the IR files prevented to properly restore the IR when reloading a set. This is fixed in the last version of the Convolution Reverb Pack.

Decay Time of the device in the Convolution Reverb Pack resets to 100% if set to lower values when reloading a set.

Another known issue is when using the A/B functionality and saving the device set to B. To workaround this, use the A section of the IR only.

The older version included on the Max for Live Essential Pack is not subject to any of the above."


Mine are :
1. Size and Decay set to the minimum.
2. (the scary one:) All sets contained in the project will have the same wrong settings once the bug happens.

Ableton support says my issue number 2 is absolutely impossible, and I would have said so as well...except it's real. I have the habit to save a lot of versions of the sets in a project, using incremental names like "great song 0.01" to "great song 0.87".
Let's say the bug happened at "great song 0.54", all previous sets containing the CR until 0.54 would have the wrong settings.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

Post Reply