Problem with shaper

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
t0000
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 21, 2020 5:05 pm

Problem with shaper

Post by t0000 » Mon Oct 26, 2020 6:19 pm

Does anyone experience a bug with shaper?

I recorded my screen to show you the problem: https://streamable.com/7o7dun

It works as expected. However after sometime it stops working. As you can see in the video when I stop the project it works again but when I click start it stops. The problem does not exist with the hz option. Only note ratio option has this problem.

When I refresh the plugin or reopen the project everything is fine. But after sometime the same bug again.

I really like this device. I map it to gain knob to make sidechain effect. But with this bug it is useless.

What cause this and how can I solve it?

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2584
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Problem with shaper

Post by [jur] » Mon Oct 26, 2020 11:33 pm

Sorry if it sounds like a stupid question, but is your Live up-to-date (L.10.1.25)?
Also, are you using the bundled Max or an external one?
And what's your OS?
Ableton Forum Moderator

t0000
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 21, 2020 5:05 pm

Re: Problem with shaper

Post by t0000 » Tue Oct 27, 2020 7:52 am

Thank you for the reply.

Yes it is latest version: 10.1.25.

I encountered with this problem with previous version too and update did not solve the problem.

I do not have Max, it is the bundled one. (Max for live)

My os is Catalina.

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2584
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Problem with shaper

Post by [jur] » Tue Oct 27, 2020 2:00 pm

Have you already tried re-downloading and re-installing Live? Shaper is part of the Core Library, maybe something went wrong at some point during an auto-update?
Ableton Forum Moderator

t0000
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 21, 2020 5:05 pm

Re: Problem with shaper

Post by t0000 » Wed Oct 28, 2020 11:08 am

Thank you for your help. Reinstalling solved the problem.

I have been testing 2 days and no problem so far.

Hopefully it will not happen again.

t0000
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 21, 2020 5:05 pm

Re: Problem with shaper

Post by t0000 » Tue Dec 15, 2020 11:11 pm

It is doing the same thing again :(

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2584
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Problem with shaper

Post by [jur] » Wed Dec 16, 2020 12:38 am

t0000 wrote:
Tue Dec 15, 2020 11:11 pm
It is doing the same thing again :(
Oh that sucks.
There might something interfering with your system/setup.
You'd better off contacting support@ableton.com at this point.
Ableton Forum Moderator

t0000
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 21, 2020 5:05 pm

Re: Problem with shaper

Post by t0000 » Wed Dec 16, 2020 10:34 am

Thank you!

I just sent an email.

I am now on Big Sur (clean install). Ableton Live 10 also latest version.

Hope they will find a solution.

Post Reply