M4L Midi monitor for controller - Lights on ! (and off.)

Learn about building and using Max for Live devices.
allthatissolid

M4L Midi monitor for controller - Lights on ! (and off.)

Post by allthatissolid » Thu Jan 14, 2021 7:36 pm

Hi people,

I have a problem with a MIDI controller I use to DJ with Live, but as it has no native Control Surface in Live, the LED-buttons don't show the current status of the devices and stuff they're affected. I think a M4L object would solve that issue, but am not sure -- I'm new to M4L and would like if the general idea behind such a device could work before diving in.

I use an old Numark Total Control to DJ from time to time with Ableton. I've made my own mapping using Instant Mapping (that Cmd+M feature, y'know), and it all works great - except the LEDs on the controller, that are supposed to show real-time status of devices and other stuff. The MIDI-mapping of the Total Control is ill-thought : MIDI inputs from a button (what MIDI note the button SENDS to Live) is not the same as the MIDI Toggle Led On/Off messages. For instance, a button would send a C3 message to Ableton, but would light up when receiving a C4 message. Huh. On top of it, there's no constant relation between both type of messages, that is, it is not a constant +12 semitones (C3 lights up with C4, but G#4 lights up with a F#3). Double-huh. (Below a link to the MIDI-map of the controller - just to get how bad it is.)

I thought of using a custom-built M4L device that would transpose the incoming MIDI-values to custom MIDI output values. But there are two questions I can't figure out :
(1) As the transposition value is not fixed (see above), i'd need to use a sort of table or chart that would transpose an incoming MIDI-note to a specific value. Would the "table"-object be fitting ? Is there an easy way to do so ?