Microtuning by cent in Max for Live?

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
Ethanielite
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2021 4:19 pm

Microtuning by cent in Max for Live?

Post by Ethanielite » Mon Feb 01, 2021 4:35 pm

Hello,

I was looking all over the forum for things that could help me with this, but unfortunately i couldn't; there were a lot of topics or posts that were sort of related, but not completely.

I'm having trouble figuring out fine-tuning in my Max for Live instrument. I'm trying to make an FM synth, and it's going pretty smoothly, but I can't seem to get this one thing right.

Here is a picture of everything. On the left is the note data, on the right is velocity and envelope information, and in the middle, in the red box, is the module that would theoretically allow me to microtune by up to 50 or -50 cents.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/14e4Wz_ ... sp=sharing

As you can see, I have it wired up so that the knob "Fine" can alter the tone frequency by a factor of ( 2^(1/1200) )^f, where f is the amount of cents. But as you also can see, the operation is returning "0" in the float box below when f=0, even though it should be returning a 1. On top of that, it's multiplying into the note signal, so the only signal going through is a constant DC whose voltage is determined by the velocity on the right.

There might be some much easier way to do this, but I wouldn't know since I'm new to Max, I'm just beginning to figure things out. Can someone please tell me what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks!

chapelier fou
Posts: 5315
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Microtuning by cent in Max for Live?

Post by chapelier fou » Mon Feb 01, 2021 6:28 pm

Not sure but : name your / box /1. So it spits out floats and not integers ?
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2600
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Microtuning by cent in Max for Live?

Post by [jur] » Mon Feb 01, 2021 11:07 pm

Did you search on maxforlive.com?
It gives many results for "micro tunning".
You can also probably look inside this great synth to see how it can be achieve.
Ableton Forum Moderator

Ethanielite
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2021 4:19 pm

Re: Microtuning by cent in Max for Live?

Post by Ethanielite » Tue Feb 02, 2021 7:21 pm

chapelier fou wrote:
Mon Feb 01, 2021 6:28 pm
Not sure but : name your / box /1. So it spits out floats and not integers ?
It worked! Although I had to switch the pow boxes to "pow 1." as well for it to work, but I didn't know that those operations would just default to integer outputs if I hadn't specified otherwise. Thanks so much!

chapelier fou
Posts: 5315
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Microtuning by cent in Max for Live?

Post by chapelier fou » Tue Feb 02, 2021 8:40 pm

Glad it worked. That’s one of the essential tricks to know with Max.
To avoid this type of situations, hook up the output of an object to the right inlet of a message box is always good practice.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

Post Reply