Ok I'm new to sampling, can I do this?

Share your favorite Ableton Live tips, tricks, and techniques.
michhill8

Ok I'm new to sampling, can I do this?

Post by michhill8 » Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:30 am

I have simpler for my sampler...

So my question is... can I split vocals and instrumentation? So could I take a horn line and get rid of the drums bass and vocals? Or am I stuck with them all? I'm aware that I can get them alone if they ARE alone on the track, but I'm curious as to how some of the producers out there can get vocal clips separate/ or bass lines separate etc.

Hope you all understand what I mean.

kraze

Post by kraze » Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:31 am

Sampling is all about finding key bits and then playing something entirely new out of them. Make a bunch of good cuts and then use a keyboard, or even better pads to play them into "your own creation" and don't be afraid to use completly seperate songs and mash it all together.

Ezmyrelda

Post by Ezmyrelda » Tue Dec 02, 2008 3:19 am

If you want to you can put an eq8 on the channel and try to eq out all of the other stuff.

Clearscreen

Re: Ok I'm new to sampling, can I do this?

Post by Clearscreen » Tue Dec 02, 2008 3:38 am

michhill8 wrote:I have simpler for my sampler...

So my question is... can I split vocals and instrumentation? So could I take a horn line and get rid of the drums bass and vocals? Or am I stuck with them all? I'm aware that I can get them alone if they ARE alone on the track, but I'm curious as to how some of the producers out there can get vocal clips separate/ or bass lines separate etc.

Hope you all understand what I mean.
sorry, the short answer is 'no'... there is techniques that kind of work (have a google around - you can use phase cancellation sometimes) but they're not all that great in my opinion.
Hp Elitebook 2.8Ghz. Live 7.0.14 & Live 8.1.5, XP Pro. and stuff...

michhill8

Post by michhill8 » Tue Dec 02, 2008 4:51 am