APC 40 FAQs, features and questions

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
4.33
Posts: 1198
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 12:49 pm
Location: Moscow

Re: APC 40 FAQs, features and questions

Post by 4.33 » Tue Jul 21, 2009 5:28 pm

SunshineLui wrote:
SunshineLui wrote:Hello guys,

i have a problem with my apc40.

when i was starting the apc40 with the power button on the back, i was holding the combination "play" and "rec" button down.
Now when the apc starts, it "blinks up" the "MASTER" button und the record arm button of track 8 is on. when i press the Master button the record button of track 8 goes out. when i press master button again he stops blinking and the button "PAN" turns on. and then nothing work. the Apc40 does not work at all.

i think i was going in to a firmware upgrade mode (know this from other akai products) or something like this a the red record arm button show a error. i find nowhere a manual or something like this where explain what to do now. maybe i erased my firmware from the apc40 where to get a new one^^.

plz help me my ableton friends :)
i also asked akai and ableton this question. and they tell me that i erased my firmware and i have to send my apc40 to akai for playing new firmware on it. so i did. remember dont try this at home never press play and rec button on startup of your apc40 you erase your firmware and apc is useless and there no way to get the firmware via internet or sth.

siiiiiiiiiiiiiiiick 8O

EddieJ
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 2:58 pm
Location: Charleston, SC

Re: APC 40 FAQs, features and questions

Post by EddieJ » Wed Jul 22, 2009 1:31 pm

SunshineLui wrote:
when i was starting the apc40 with the power button on the back, i was holding the combination "play" and "rec" button down.

Why did you do that?

kaioconnell
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 7:42 pm

Re: APC 40 FAQs, features and questions

Post by kaioconnell » Wed Jul 22, 2009 7:46 pm

Hi there, I was wondering if anyone has tried modifying the leds on the clip matrix, I'm planning on attempting to do so since my color blindness makes the amber and orange practically indistinguishable. Any hints or tips would be awesome so I don't end up toasting the poor thing.

Jesse
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 2:48 pm
Location: Philadelphia

Re: APC 40 FAQs, features and questions

Post by Jesse » Thu Jul 23, 2009 7:28 pm

Hi All,
As a few of you have found out, holding down global play and record while you start up will enable you to delete the APC40's firmware.

We strongly recommend you do not do this, as you will have to contact Akai, and request return authorization to replace your firmware at Akai's factory.

Best,
Jesse

Tone Deft
Posts: 24155
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm

Re: APC 40 FAQs, features and questions

Post by Tone Deft » Fri Jul 24, 2009 7:05 am

I haven't checked this thread for a months. then I read this. 8O

8)

Jesse - then why would you let us do this? :idea: 8O :twisted: :!: :?:
In my life
Why do I smile
At people who I'd much rather kick in the eye?
-Moz

56casino
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 6:31 am

Re: APC 40 FAQs, features and questions

Post by 56casino » Fri Jul 24, 2009 7:06 am

Jesse wrote:Hi All,
As a few of you have found out, holding down global play and record while you start up will enable you to delete the APC40's firmware.

We strongly recommend you do not do this, as you will have to contact Akai, and request return authorization to replace your firmware at Akai's factory.

Best,
Jesse
Hi Jesse, I hope you are not joking,right?

Regards

ytsek
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 3:22 pm
Location: Rotterdam
Contact:

Re: APC 40 FAQs, features and questions

Post by ytsek » Fri Jul 24, 2009 9:42 am

Jesse wrote:Hi All,
As a few of you have found out, holding down global play and record while you start up will enable you to delete the APC40's firmware.

We strongly recommend you do not do this, as you will have to contact Akai, and request return authorization to replace your firmware at Akai's factory.

Best,
Jesse
Shouldn't have told me this. Will always be tempted to this from now when I boot up.

pktxx2008
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 1:47 pm

Re: APC 40 FAQs, features and questions

Post by pktxx2008 » Fri Jul 24, 2009 1:51 pm

I got to play with this at NAMM for 15 minutes and I have to say it's solid. Honestly you could release it as-is right now and I think people would love it, I didn't run into any bugs or quirks. A VERY cool controller and the $399 pricetag is well worth it.

And to the poster above, yes all the encoders are endless.

================================================================
Laptop battery for dell, toshiba, sony

housemusiclover
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:54 pm

Re: APC 40 FAQs, features and questions

Post by housemusiclover » Fri Jul 24, 2009 3:47 pm

pktxx2008 wrote:I got to play with this at NAMM for 15 minutes and I have to say it's solid. Honestly you could release it as-is right now and I think people would love it
lol, it's been out for nearly 2 months
but you're right, i love it :wink:

nuperspective
Posts: 1394
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 3:45 pm
Location: was: accrington [england]. now: melbourne [australia]

Re: APC 40 FAQs, features and questions

Post by nuperspective » Sun Jul 26, 2009 4:39 am

sorry if this has come up [but 50+ pages is a lot of reading].

if your using the apc in a dj set up and you have the same fx on each channel. can you control more than one channel at a time with the controls.

example

if i want to filter sweep two tracks [1 and 5] while the rest keep playing?

eldar
Posts: 216
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 10:38 am

Re: APC 40 FAQs, features and questions

Post by eldar » Sun Jul 26, 2009 1:09 pm

nuperspective wrote:sorry if this has come up [but 50+ pages is a lot of reading].

if your using the apc in a dj set up and you have the same fx on each channel. can you control more than one channel at a time with the controls.

example

if i want to filter sweep two tracks [1 and 5] while the rest keep playing?
just assign two of the 8 pan controllers to cutoff and off you go

arcadekid
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 6:49 pm

Re: APC 40 FAQs, features and questions

Post by arcadekid » Mon Jul 27, 2009 3:14 pm

Holding down play and rec while powering up doesn't reinitialize the APC40 like it may for MPCs or some Alesis products, so don't use this as a troubleshooting step.

If you somehow you do start up the power while holding play and record buttons by accident - do not press the master button. Just restart the unit without holding any buttons down.

nuperspective
Posts: 1394
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 3:45 pm
Location: was: accrington [england]. now: melbourne [australia]

Re: APC 40 FAQs, features and questions

Post by nuperspective » Tue Jul 28, 2009 9:04 pm

anybody else expected that there would be an offer through ableton to buy the apc?

in the same way we have the coupons for live 8 or the same way you can check your upgrade options and get a price based on the number of insturments you own etc etc.

ytsek
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 3:22 pm
Location: Rotterdam
Contact:

Re: APC 40 FAQs, features and questions

Post by ytsek » Wed Jul 29, 2009 9:07 am

arcadekid wrote:Holding down play and rec while powering up doesn't reinitialize the APC40 like it may for MPCs or some Alesis products, so don't use this as a troubleshooting step.

If you somehow you do start up the power while holding play and record buttons by accident - do not press the master button. Just restart the unit without holding any buttons down.
Thankz, gonna try this.

POLYGLOTT
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 5:21 am
Location: wLA - Berzerkeley
Contact:

Re: APC 40 FAQs, features and questions

Post by POLYGLOTT » Thu Jul 30, 2009 7:16 am

Don't know if this has been mentioned

but

WHY ARE ALL MY APC40 CORDS SO SHORT?

Post Reply