All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1060 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 71  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 5:28 pm 

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 2:48 pm
Posts: 265
Location: Philadelphia
Jan corrected me on one point:

Quote:
Regarding custom mapping of the APC40, the Device Control section have no banking when user mapped (8 knobs, 8 things can be mapped). However, the Pan/SendA/Send B/Send C are banked interally in the APC firmware, which means you have 4 banks of 8 user mappable endless encoders. We considered mapping 8 of these to things like tempo, swing, zoom, etc., but it got confusing for the user, and decided to let you decide if you want to do
this."


That's (luckily) not correct. Live does the banking for both sets of encoders but I
implemented a mechanism that makes the banking available for manual mappings as well (as long as the script is active).

_________________
Jesse Terry
www.ableton.com
www.jethroe.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 5:48 pm 

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 9:43 pm
Posts: 582
Location: Oakland
Just to be clear,
all the rotaries are endless, right?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 5:59 pm 

Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 9:06 am
Posts: 54
http://www.flickr.com/photos/insolace/3204735732/

I got to play with this at NAMM for 15 minutes and I have to say it's solid. Honestly you could release it as-is right now and I think people would love it, I didn't run into any bugs or quirks. A VERY cool controller and the $399 pricetag is well worth it.

And to the poster above, yes all the encoders are endless.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 6:10 pm 

Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 2:43 pm
Posts: 790
beatpoet wrote:
Jesse wrote:



Secondly, how can anybody justify $399 and €449, €449 is equal to $579.
It makes no sense whatsoever ?


Akai sets the pricing, sorry it doesn't meet your needs. I'll pass on your thoughts.




It's not that is doesn't meet my needs, it's just that one part of the world pays 45 % more than the other for the same product, it's blatant exploitation by Akai.

None of Akai's other controller products have this pricing difference, why so for the APC 40. It cannot be fully explained by taxes/shipping. It's blatant jacking up the Euro price to keep the Dollar price low. I think it's disgusting behaviour and puts both Ableton and Akai in a very bad light.



We maybe need to cut them some slack on the price, at least until more retailers start listing it with a price - its possible they are just guessing at the moment. Besides, I've never heard of a manufacturer quoting a "street price", I guess it maybe something they do in mainland Europe but they don't do it in the UK - its always "suggested retail price" or "recommended retail price".

Again, not sure what its like in the US but manufacturers have to be a bit careful when it comes to pricing in the EU - if they were caught setting the selling price they would get in a lot of trouble.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 7:10 pm 

Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 1:29 am
Posts: 4370
Location: The Ableton Live Forum
Jesse wrote:
Jan corrected me on one point:

Quote:
Regarding custom mapping of the APC40, the Device Control section have no banking when user mapped (8 knobs, 8 things can be mapped). However, the Pan/SendA/Send B/Send C are banked interally in the APC firmware, which means you have 4 banks of 8 user mappable endless encoders. We considered mapping 8 of these to things like tempo, swing, zoom, etc., but it got confusing for the user, and decided to let you decide if you want to do
this."


That's (luckily) not correct. Live does the banking for both sets of encoders but I
implemented a mechanism that makes the banking available for manual mappings as well (as long as the script is active).


Excellent news indeed!

Now I just want to figure out how to reverse the shift function for the device encoders, so that hitting those 8 buttons (without shift) does the 8 bank changes, and shift +buttons do the regular functions... This will require MaxforLive I'm guessing? This is the only change I'd like to make.

_________________
Professional Shark Jumper.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 7:31 pm 

Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 655
Location: Galway
jonny72 wrote:
beatpoet wrote:
Jesse wrote:



Secondly, how can anybody justify $399 and €449, €449 is equal to $579.
It makes no sense whatsoever ?


Akai sets the pricing, sorry it doesn't meet your needs. I'll pass on your thoughts.




It's not that is doesn't meet my needs, it's just that one part of the world pays 45 % more than the other for the same product, it's blatant exploitation by Akai.

None of Akai's other controller products have this pricing difference, why so for the APC 40. It cannot be fully explained by taxes/shipping. It's blatant jacking up the Euro price to keep the Dollar price low. I think it's disgusting behaviour and puts both Ableton and Akai in a very bad light.



We maybe need to cut them some slack on the price, at least until more retailers start listing it with a price - its possible they are just guessing at the moment. Besides, I've never heard of a manufacturer quoting a "street price", I guess it maybe something they do in mainland Europe but they don't do it in the UK - its always "suggested retail price" or "recommended retail price".

Again, not sure what its like in the US but manufacturers have to be a bit careful when it comes to pricing in the EU - if they were caught setting the selling price they would get in a lot of trouble.


I hear you jonny but I think now is the time to voice your opinion, by the time it's in the shops it's too late, Live users are by and large the target market for this product. It seems from Jesse's comments that Akai are driving the price on this one, the price difference is indefensible and they are effectively ripping off Ableton's loyal European customers. Something needs to be said now.

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/stressahah


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 7:33 pm 

Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 655
Location: Galway
anamexis wrote:
Just to be clear,
all the rotaries are endless, right?


Yes

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/stressahah


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 7:34 pm 

Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 7:14 am
Posts: 237
Location: Brussels
beatpoet wrote:
Jesse wrote:



Secondly, how can anybody justify $399 and €449, €449 is equal to $579.
It makes no sense whatsoever ?


Akai sets the pricing, sorry it doesn't meet your needs. I'll pass on your thoughts.




It's not that is doesn't meet my needs, it's just that one part of the world pays 45 % more than the other for the same product, it's blatant exploitation by Akai.

None of Akai's other controller products have this pricing difference, why so for the APC 40. It cannot be fully explained by taxes/shipping. It's blatant jacking up the Euro price to keep the Dollar price low. I think it's disgusting behaviour and puts both Ableton and Akai in a very bad light.

I will not be buying this product at the jacked up prices, I will buy it from the US and pay the duty and shipping for about 380 euro and I will not buy any other Akai products.

Thanks for coming in to answer questions Jesse, much appriciated, not trying to shoot the messenger so if you could also pass these thoughts along to Akai also I'd be very greatful.


Also, will the power supply being shipped with the APC be able take 110-230 V ? I think this will be important for those of us not willing to be ripped off. I can pick up a power supply locally for about 10 euro, so no big deal if it isn't I suppose. Thanks again.


+1. with that price difference they can 'shaft' that APC in their hairy arse.
it's not THAT good. No respect, no monney.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 7:38 pm 

Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Posts: 23565
Location: SF, CA
Image

_________________
oddstep wrote:
I agree with all of this. I'm just bored of writing "its music, just listen and trust your judgement"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 7:40 pm 

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 12:41 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Leeds, UK
Mid Feb date from the pre-order Email but I shall not hold my breath.

_________________
Ahh Bisto


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 7:46 pm 

Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 4:47 am
Posts: 105
Here's a question ...

That red box that appears in Live, the one that shows which clips are currently shown on the APC, is that ...

a) a standard feature of Live 8?
b) something that can be done with MAX or MAX4Live (no APC)?
c) something that is ONLY available to those that buy the APC?

???


I was thinking of using that feature with a monome if i could define my own "red box".

Cheers!

_________________
iMac G5 2.16 | Echo AudioFire12 | Xone 92 | Live 8 + M4L | Trigger Finger | Monome 256 | Kenton Killamix Mini | Truth 3031A


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 7:48 pm 

Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 7:14 am
Posts: 237
Location: Brussels
Tone Deft wrote:
Image


omg that's one ugly baby. Tone you should be ashamed of yourself producing offspring like that!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 7:58 pm 

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 2:48 pm
Posts: 265
Location: Philadelphia
Currently the Red Ring is only available to users of the APC40, in Live 7 and 8.
Jesse

_________________
Jesse Terry
www.ableton.com
www.jethroe.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 8:00 pm 

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 2:48 pm
Posts: 265
Location: Philadelphia
Currently the Red Ring is only available to users of the APC40, in Live 7 and 8.
Jesse

_________________
Jesse Terry
www.ableton.com
www.jethroe.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 8:10 pm 

Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Posts: 23565
Location: SF, CA
BoimB son of BoB wrote:
Tone Deft wrote:
Image


omg that's one ugly baby. Tone you should be ashamed of yourself producing offspring like that!

with all the money I saved from going with the CHEAP whore I can easily get an APC, at least with the US prices I can.

anyone need a studio slave? she's a bit young but in time can learn to wrap cables, turn fader knobs and act as a great bass trap.

_________________
oddstep wrote:
I agree with all of this. I'm just bored of writing "its music, just listen and trust your judgement"


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1060 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 71  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group