unwanted static on guitar tracks

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
shorty_185
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 6:25 am

unwanted static on guitar tracks

Post by shorty_185 » Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:43 am

:cry: ok ovcourse im using ableton and i am also using the line 6 D/I box. i am using the same guitar on 2 different tracks but with different line 6 tone settings. When i play the guitar tracks seprately there is no static, but played together they have a slight static sound which is annoying. What can i do in ableton to get rid of this problem?

I am using Ableton 6 LE and the Line 6 Tone Port which i have had since Jan of 2006

I have had this problem in the past but never cared till now...im trying to get a decent demo ready for a cd to hand out at local shows and i would greatly appreciate some help and advice. Thanks

-Shorty

Superchibisan
Posts: 593
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 7:25 pm

Post by Superchibisan » Wed Feb 04, 2009 7:00 am

eq out the offending frequency!

shorty_185
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 6:25 am

Post by shorty_185 » Wed Feb 04, 2009 7:08 am

ok i have been using ableton for about 3 years now but im still learning on my own....im not sure what kind of eq to use what would you suggest?

Aequitas123
Posts: 1204
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:58 pm

Post by Aequitas123 » Wed Feb 04, 2009 3:01 pm

open the EQ8 and push up a node. Move that node left and right until you find the static is boosted, then cut it all the way down.

hobelhai
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 12:39 pm

Post by hobelhai » Thu Feb 05, 2009 9:45 am

Hi Shorty, as a rule of thumb when working with an EQ you should remember: Boosting with low Q-settings, cutting frequencies with a higher Q.
But your problem sounds like phase distortion. Try using an Utility in one of your guitartracks and play with the phase-settings. Good luck.

feyshay
Posts: 625
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 9:10 pm
Location: Annapolis, MD

Post by feyshay » Fri Feb 06, 2009 7:09 pm

Could the static be digital clipping. Have you turned down the mixer volume of the tracks to see if the static goes away?

966sf
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 11:14 pm
Location: San Francisco

Post by 966sf » Sun Feb 08, 2009 10:04 am

Yeah static is an ambiguous term, but if it only happens when both play it's most likely a phase problem. Either invert one of the channels or nudge one until they are in phase with each other.
Macbook Pro 15" Core Duo 2.16ghz 2GB ram; Live 6.0.10; Live 7.0.7; Digi 003 Rack; Novation Remote Zero SL;Faderfox micromodul LC2, Korg Kontrol49; M-Audio Trigger Finger

Post Reply