[tip] how to compensate plug ins delays

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
geoffroy
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 8:50 am
Contact:

[tip] how to compensate plug ins delays

Post by geoffroy » Fri Jul 30, 2004 4:35 pm

Hi

You can manually do some delay compensation in Live and use a good impulse reverb like SIR
http://www.knufinke.de/sir/index_en.html

1. download the free vst plug Sample Delay in the tools page of
http://perso.club-internet.fr/vinuesa/p ... eneral.htm
(and listen to his music, it's awesome)

2. create a set with two audio tracks and one return track
3. rename the second track to "premaster" and insert a sample delay on that track. Open Sample Delay and put 8960 as the delay value (it's the latency of SIR)
4. re name the return track to "reverb" and insert SIR on that track.
5. route the output of the first audio tracks to "premaster"
6. play some clips on the first audio track
7. you can raise the reverb amount of the first track
8. all is on sync

Best wishes

geoffroy
Live 5.0.2 - Athlon 1800+ - 768 Mo RAM - Windows 2000 - MAudio Firewire Audiophile - midi keyboard - Evolution UC16
Minizza - Music for girls out NOW on Brocoli - feat. Edward Ka-Spel, Erik Arnaud, Roel Meelkop
www.brocoli.org

Guest

Post by Guest » Fri Jul 30, 2004 8:37 pm

good one...thanks

Michel H.
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 1:30 am

Post by Michel H. » Sun Aug 01, 2004 2:42 pm

System:
Clevo D500p 3Ghz HT Laptop, 1 gig RAM, XP SP2, RME Multiface (ver 2.93)
Ableton Live 5.0b11

geoffroy
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 8:50 am
Contact:

Post by geoffroy » Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:53 am

Thanks for having noticed that.
It's online again!
Live 5.0.2 - Athlon 1800+ - 768 Mo RAM - Windows 2000 - MAudio Firewire Audiophile - midi keyboard - Evolution UC16
Minizza - Music for girls out NOW on Brocoli - feat. Edward Ka-Spel, Erik Arnaud, Roel Meelkop
www.brocoli.org

Guest

Re: [tip] how to compensate plug ins delays

Post by Guest » Tue Aug 10, 2004 9:32 am

3. rename the second track to "premaster" and insert a sample delay on that track. Open Sample Delay and put 8960 as the delay value (it's the latency of SIR)

Where is "sample delay"? Is it "simple delay"?

thnak you.

geoffroy
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 8:50 am
Contact:

Post by geoffroy » Tue Aug 10, 2004 11:19 am

no, it's the sample delay vst plugin you can download at :

http://perso.club-internet.fr/vinuesa/p ... _delay.zip
Live 5.0.2 - Athlon 1800+ - 768 Mo RAM - Windows 2000 - MAudio Firewire Audiophile - midi keyboard - Evolution UC16
Minizza - Music for girls out NOW on Brocoli - feat. Edward Ka-Spel, Erik Arnaud, Roel Meelkop
www.brocoli.org

Guest

Post by Guest » Thu Aug 12, 2004 2:58 am

Thanks.I didn`t know this pulugin.
This tip is great!

gsbe
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 11:15 am
Location: Lexington, VA
Contact:

plugin delay compensation solution

Post by gsbe » Mon Feb 07, 2005 12:11 am

This is the best Live tip I've seen in a long time. Too bad its taken me this long to find it. I've been fighting with SIR as an effect send for a week! Thanks for this.

timothyallan
Posts: 5788
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Post by timothyallan » Wed Feb 09, 2005 5:35 am

awesome!! This thing has breathed new life into my external hardware! Sure you have to set up dummy tracks and routing, but its worth it when you can finally synch up external FX boxes :)

tim

gsbe
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 11:15 am
Location: Lexington, VA
Contact:

Post by gsbe » Mon Oct 31, 2005 6:22 am

SIR Delay Compensator is available here:
http://home.earthlink.net/~rocksonics/FreePlugs.htm

Anyone know how to use the new delay compensation in Live5 with SIR? I'm confused how to set it up and get it to work correctly. Screenshots would be appreciated.

poshook
Posts: 467
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 4:31 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Post by poshook » Mon Oct 31, 2005 5:57 pm

gsbe wrote:SIR Delay Compensator is available here:
http://home.earthlink.net/~rocksonics/FreePlugs.htm

Anyone know how to use the new delay compensation in Live5 with SIR? I'm confused how to set it up and get it to work correctly. Screenshots would be appreciated.
turn Latency compensation in Options menu on and press play button. everything is done babe

gsbe
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 11:15 am
Location: Lexington, VA
Contact:

Post by gsbe » Mon Oct 31, 2005 10:46 pm

poshook wrote:turn Latency compensation in Options menu on and press play button. everything is done babe
ha ha, right you are. I wasn't sure what was happening because in addition to the delay compensation feature with Live5 is also the new "track delay" that shows below the tracks. Turns out it has nothing to do with this as you have pointed out. Thanks very much, poshook.

Post Reply