Page 1 of 1

Question about vst parameters in Live 8.

Posted: Tue May 19, 2009 3:09 am
by Raddler
So I load up a synth(vst), in this case a freebie from computer music, I open the new feature in Live 8 where u can assign your vst parameters and I hit the configure button, then choose a parameter on my vst, except nothing shows up in the parameters section of Live(to the right of the x/y controller). Why? I'm guessing some synths don't "talk" to Live when it comes to automating parameters. It's frustrating because many synth that I love and use can't be automated. I think I might be missing something, anyone!!!

Re: Question about vst parameters in Live 8.

Posted: Tue May 19, 2009 3:11 am
by Tone Deft
can you get it to work with other plug ins?

if you can, I guess you should file a bug report with Ableton.

Re: Question about vst parameters in Live 8.

Posted: Tue May 19, 2009 3:29 am
by Raddler
Yes I can get it to work with most plugins, but there's a handfull where I have this problem. I'm not a genius with this stuff, but I don't think it's a bug problem, I just think that not all synth are automatable, but I'm not sure. Though someone here would know for sure.

Re: Question about vst parameters in Live 8.

Posted: Tue May 19, 2009 6:35 am
by Raddler
I was hoping if someone is using Live 8, is synth 1 vst automatable? I can't get Live to recognize the parameters!!

Re: Question about vst parameters in Live 8.

Posted: Tue May 19, 2009 7:16 am
by Raddler
Figured it out. Thanx

Re: Question about vst parameters in Live 8.

Posted: Tue May 19, 2009 8:04 am
by DJMillsy
Share your knowledge Raddler.......

Re: Question about vst parameters in Live 8.

Posted: Tue May 19, 2009 6:34 pm
by Raddler
For sure. There was already a post on this site regarding this issue of some vsts not automating.I don't have the link right now but will post it tonight. Basically u need to add a dot text file to the preferences folder in live 8. The exact procedure is detailed at the ableton troubleshoot page. Just google " live 8 synth1 automation". This is where I found the link. Simple process that fixes the automation problems. All vsts are now automatable in the parameter section of live.