Using automation on an effect in a return track...

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
zerocrossing
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 6:42 pm
Contact:

Using automation on an effect in a return track...

Post by zerocrossing » Sat May 23, 2009 10:52 pm

Hey,

I've got Looper in a send with dBlue's glitch after it and I want to automate the glitch amount over time... but I can't make a clip in a return track. Is there some other way of doing this? Thanks.

Darwinist
Posts: 206
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 2:41 am

Re: Using automation on an effect in a return track...

Post by Darwinist » Sun May 24, 2009 3:07 am

Instead of sending it's output straight to the master, set the send channel to go to another regular audio channel, set monitor on that channel to "IN", and put the FX in that channel, which then goes to the master.

This way you can use the send knobs to decide which channels get FX'd, while retaining the ability to use dummy clips.

Pitch Black
Posts: 6452
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Using automation on an effect in a return track...

Post by Pitch Black » Sun May 24, 2009 3:10 am

^ what he said. there's a pic of the routing here: http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=114920

zerocrossing
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 6:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Using automation on an effect in a return track...

Post by zerocrossing » Sun May 24, 2009 6:52 am

Pitch Black wrote:^ what he said. there's a pic of the routing here: http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=114920
Thanks, that'll work for me. Seems odd the send tracks don't have this.

Post Reply