APC40 TIPS --- Share Your Brainz!

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Lo-Fi Massahkah
Posts: 3602
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:57 pm
Location: The south east suburbs of Malmö, Sweden.

Re: APC40 TIPS --- Share Your Brainz!

Post by Lo-Fi Massahkah » Mon Jun 08, 2009 7:36 pm

-- dubletto --

moodles
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 4:50 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Re: APC40 TIPS --- Share Your Brainz!

Post by moodles » Tue Jun 09, 2009 2:31 am

nezzyidy wrote: Here's a sweet video: Customize the APC40
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D4YIGfhbCtw
Can anyone explain how he is switching to different modes in the video? I understand that he programmed the different modes using Bome, but how does he switch back and forth between them?

This looks like a potential way to add in some step sequence functionality to the APC without using MAX or M4L.

djlimbs
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:07 am

Re: APC40 TIPS --- Share Your Brainz!

Post by djlimbs » Tue Jun 09, 2009 4:31 pm

ya, that dude snapped w/ Bome...how did he assign matrix pad colors too?

drewbixcube
Posts: 298
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 2:37 am

Re: APC40 TIPS --- Share Your Brainz!

Post by drewbixcube » Wed Jun 10, 2009 3:35 am

Haha, I just watched that video too... not very informational. Sure, it's great he customized his APC, but how? Ah well, I'm sure M4L will sort it out. ;)

trilo
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 11:28 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: APC40 TIPS --- Share Your Brainz!

Post by trilo » Wed Jun 10, 2009 7:54 am

Still exploring, but first thing I did was same as djlimbs and remapped cue to tempo. Love the tip for the EQ preset on the activation buttons, Kaktusen. And I want to try messing around with bouncing six channels into two similar to how you've got it, I saw Dave Hill doing that at the Live 8 clinic he did here last month too, I liked how that worked.

As for that other forum, no thanks I'm already registered on plenty of web forums and like it here on a manufacturer's site (I may be mistaken, but that link does not look like it's actually run by Ableton or Akai Professional).

trilo
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 11:28 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: APC40 TIPS --- Share Your Brainz!

Post by trilo » Wed Jun 10, 2009 5:52 pm

Kaktusen - you may want to give this EQ a try - LSS DJ EQ

Just finished downloading/installing it and the pluggo runtime and messing around with it a bit. Seems to have a better feel for starters (but I haven't given it a serious workout yet), might be worth taking a look at.

trilo
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 11:28 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: APC40 TIPS --- Share Your Brainz!

Post by trilo » Wed Jun 10, 2009 5:55 pm

Kaktusen - you may want to give this EQ a try - LSS DJ EQ

Just finished downloading/installing it and the pluggo runtime and messing around with it a bit. Seems to have a better feel for starters (but I haven't given it a serious workout yet), might be worth taking a look at.

kidstretch
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 10:13 am

Re: APC40 TIPS --- Share Your Brainz!

Post by kidstretch » Wed Jun 10, 2009 6:43 pm

Just got mine today. how can i change the tempo using the apc?
and how can i select a portion of a track and loop it by not touching the mac?

nezzyidy
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 8:38 pm
Location: Oakland, CA
Contact:

Re: APC40 TIPS --- Share Your Brainz!

Post by nezzyidy » Wed Jun 10, 2009 8:22 pm

Regarding the customization vid: It looks like he programmed the bank to
change when he holds "Shift" and touches the "Stop Clip" track buttons.
Image

nezzyidy
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 8:38 pm
Location: Oakland, CA
Contact:

Re: APC40 TIPS --- Share Your Brainz!

Post by nezzyidy » Wed Jun 10, 2009 8:24 pm

This APC40 Tips page written by Akai is awesome! ---- I found this on http://apc40.nice-forums.net/forum.htm

http://www.akaipro.com/tipsjun09
Image

trilo
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 11:28 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: APC40 TIPS --- Share Your Brainz!

Post by trilo » Wed Jun 10, 2009 9:42 pm

nezzyidy, thanks for that link!

Kidstretch, once you've set the APC40 up in prefs it's easy. Hit cmd-M (ctrl-M on a PC) to go into midi map mode. Then click up on the tempo box in the top left corner of live, and start turning the knob you want to map it to. Then press cmd-M (or ctrl-M) again to exit midi map mode.

I mapped mine to the cue level, since my audio interface already has a handy headphone volume control.

kidstretch
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 10:13 am

Re: APC40 TIPS --- Share Your Brainz!

Post by kidstretch » Wed Jun 10, 2009 9:44 pm

hey trilo,that's what i did, but it doesn't accept that command... :(

djlimbs
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:07 am

Re: APC40 TIPS --- Share Your Brainz!

Post by djlimbs » Thu Jun 11, 2009 2:15 pm

nezzyidy wrote:This APC40 Tips page written by Akai is awesome! ---- I found this on http://apc40.nice-forums.net/forum.htm

http://www.akaipro.com/tipsjun09
for the tip about assigning scene selection to a knob..they mention using the assignable knobs instead of cue, but those aren't relative by default...does this mean there's a way to make them relative??

trilo
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 11:28 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: APC40 TIPS --- Share Your Brainz!

Post by trilo » Thu Jun 11, 2009 3:26 pm

kidstretch, go back to prefs, you probably didn't enable track, sync, and remote under midi ports (on the midi tab). At least that's what happened to me when I first got mine home :-)

esky
Posts: 701
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 3:54 pm
Location: Berlin - Kreuzberg 61
Contact:

Re: APC40 TIPS --- Share Your Brainz!

Post by esky » Thu Jun 11, 2009 6:35 pm

Is it true that you can not control return tracks via the device control and the send buttons?

Post Reply