break beats

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
machinedelmorte
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Bronx, new york

break beats

Post by machinedelmorte » Thu Jul 23, 2009 5:23 pm

Anyone know where I can find some free breakbeat midi files
Ableton 7, Edirol PCR-M30 midi Controller, Yamaha EX7, Alesis SR16

Aequitas123
Posts: 1204
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:58 pm

Re: break beats

Post by Aequitas123 » Thu Jul 23, 2009 7:41 pm

did you search Abletons Midi clips section?

did you try a Google search for "Break Beat Midi"?

machinedelmorte
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Bronx, new york

Re: break beats

Post by machinedelmorte » Thu Jul 23, 2009 8:56 pm

I did a Google search and not much came up. I will check the Ableton site
Ableton 7, Edirol PCR-M30 midi Controller, Yamaha EX7, Alesis SR16

michaellpenman
Posts: 396
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 1:12 pm
Location: edinburgh
Contact:

Re: break beats

Post by michaellpenman » Thu Jul 23, 2009 11:23 pm

Just take a break beat audio file and use abletons slice to midi function, then Organize the midi into the way GM sets it up.
then extract the midi from there. You can also extract the groove in the new ableton

machinedelmorte
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Bronx, new york

Re: break beats

Post by machinedelmorte » Fri Jul 24, 2009 1:46 am

that works but I just want the midi file
Ableton 7, Edirol PCR-M30 midi Controller, Yamaha EX7, Alesis SR16

Aequitas123
Posts: 1204
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:58 pm

Re: break beats

Post by Aequitas123 » Fri Jul 24, 2009 2:17 am

i meant checking the midi clips that come with Ableton.

machinedelmorte
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Bronx, new york

Re: break beats

Post by machinedelmorte » Fri Jul 24, 2009 2:51 am

i forgot about those
Ableton 7, Edirol PCR-M30 midi Controller, Yamaha EX7, Alesis SR16


danabus
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:12 pm

Re: break beats

Post by danabus » Fri Jul 24, 2009 9:09 pm

make your own???

Dreamr
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 8:56 pm
Location: Puerto Vallarta, MX
Contact:

Re: break beats

Post by Dreamr » Fri Jul 31, 2009 5:01 am

I like to take a drum rack, program my 8 bar loops, then set up a few different patterns in a 2 bar loop. Put those in order and set them to legato. Automate the follow actions to grab 1 beat from one, then random another, then 2 beats on that one, etc.

Record some of the variations then chop out what works for a break.
I am Dreamr
Electro | Complextro | Fidget | Dutch | House
Download Free Electro House Mixes and Remixes!
www.dreamr.xxx

hurlingdervish
Posts: 1242
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 1:06 am
Location: The New England Colonies

Re: break beats

Post by hurlingdervish » Fri Jul 31, 2009 3:42 pm

danabus wrote:make your own???

Post Reply