how do I set exact BPM while automating song tempo?

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
sesshin
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 12:44 am
Location: Los Angeles

how do I set exact BPM while automating song tempo?

Post by sesshin » Sat Aug 22, 2009 7:40 pm

I have a song that I want to start out at 110bpms and then at another point in the song jump to 140. I know how to automate this on the master timeline, my problem is when I place a point and drag it, it goes to like 110.15 or 139.86. It's very difficult to get it to go directly to 110 or 140.

is there an easier way to do this?

spiral
Posts: 742
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: how do I set exact BPM while automating song tempo?

Post by spiral » Sun Aug 23, 2009 1:32 am

AFAIK its bug
use scene launcher session view is one way around it
type the tempo you want in the scene launcher then record that change
it will then be automated in arrangement view

sesshin
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 12:44 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: how do I set exact BPM while automating song tempo?

Post by sesshin » Sun Aug 23, 2009 4:55 am

ahh, I see. that's frustrating. it would seem simple to implement a feature where when you hovered over the point and the BPM comes up in a box, you could just click and type in an actual value. oh well. thanks for your input.

friend_kami
Posts: 2255
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 10:10 pm

Re: how do I set exact BPM while automating song tempo?

Post by friend_kami » Mon Aug 24, 2009 12:43 pm

sesshin wrote:ahh, I see. that's frustrating. it would seem simple to implement a feature where when you hovered over the point and the BPM comes up in a box, you could just click and type in an actual value. oh well. thanks for your input.

+1

sun_in_aquarius
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 12:30 am

Re: how do I set exact BPM while automating song tempo?

Post by sun_in_aquarius » Tue Aug 25, 2009 3:21 pm

the way i do it to get around this is manually scroll up on the tempo box while recording so it creates a ramp to your new tempo....have been doing this for a year or so now and works fine....

sesshin
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 12:44 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: how do I set exact BPM while automating song tempo?

Post by sesshin » Tue Aug 25, 2009 10:47 pm

hey that works. thanks!

geo
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 11:53 am
Contact:

Re: how do I set exact BPM while automating song tempo?

Post by geo » Tue Sep 08, 2009 11:02 pm

You could also set the tempo range minimum and maximum to 110 and 140, then you just grab the lowest point to the bottom and the highest to the top of the automation line. Also CTRL+drag the automation point up or down makes finer adjustments.

dazexus
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 7:48 am

Re: how do I set exact BPM while automating song tempo?

Post by dazexus » Wed Sep 09, 2009 1:13 am

What they should add in future versions is a tempo change on the arrange page using markers (the same as time signature changes)

What you think?

Dan

geo
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 11:53 am
Contact:

Re: how do I set exact BPM while automating song tempo?

Post by geo » Wed Sep 09, 2009 11:10 am

That and loads of other stuff that are obviously easy and logical implementations have been mentioned by users but still nothing from Ableton.

StickPlayer
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 7:46 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: how do I set exact BPM while automating song tempo?

Post by StickPlayer » Sat Jun 12, 2010 1:59 am

Actually, let's extend this to all automation - it all has this failings.

I think it should work just like time-signature changes: you could right-click any "point" on an automation lane, and then enter the number from 0 to 127. That would be consistent and help ginormously.
http://myspace.com/StickPlayer

Ableton Suite 8.2.1
Intel i7, Windows 7 x64 Pro, 8GB RAM
M-Audio Echo firewire interface.

Da hand
Posts: 1626
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 8:38 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: how do I set exact BPM while automating song tempo?

Post by Da hand » Sat Jun 12, 2010 5:29 am

geo wrote:You could also set the tempo range minimum and maximum to 110 and 140, then you just grab the lowest point to the bottom and the highest to the top of the automation line. Also CTRL+drag the automation point up or down makes finer adjustments.
The way to get the exact tempo very quickly is to:

1) - set the tempo range minimum and maximum to 110 and 140 (now the top of what you see is 140, the bottom 110)
2) - use the pencil tool to draw your speed change - go all the way down for 110, all the way up for 140. In "pencil" mode, you will not be able to draw beyond the max/min you set, making it very easy and quick to draw exact tempos you specify in tempo min/max.

Also remember that the tempo min/max is only for viewing/editing purposes. It is not the actual min/max tempo of your track. So if you need to add a third, fourth, fifth tempo change, just type in new tempo min/max values and follow steps 1 and 2 again.
Last edited by Da hand on Sat Jun 12, 2010 11:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Re: how do I set exact BPM while automating song tempo?

Post by longjohns » Sat Jun 12, 2010 5:47 am


re.mark
Posts: 1248
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 11:25 pm
Location: UK

Re: how do I set exact BPM while automating song tempo?

Post by re.mark » Sun Jun 13, 2010 9:36 am

Use CMD (dont know PC version) and mouse to change automation values in smaller increments!

kvitamin
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 6:25 pm
Contact:

Re: how do I set exact BPM while automating song tempo?

Post by kvitamin » Wed Jun 16, 2010 9:28 pm

Tom Cosm has a good tip that I've been using when putting together this mixtape with a bunch of different tempos

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FNnbLdSs ... r_embedded

Post Reply