Playing around with the Launchpad

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
holistic
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 8:09 pm
Contact:

Playing around with the Launchpad

Post by holistic » Tue Nov 10, 2009 10:30 am

Hi everybody! (C) Dr. Nick

Long time reading, first time posting.

Just got my Launchpad and was playing around with it. Everything is lovely except on little thing.

Got two audio tracks for my DJ-set. On each one of them i've got some effects; an Auto-filter, Ping Pong Delay and three diferent Beat Repeat for different frequency-ranges etc etc.. 8)

My idea was to have the on/off-switch for each of these assigned to some buttons on the same row on the "User 2"-page.

So far so good; the buttons light up when it's on and no light when it's off.
BUT when i go to "Session"-page to launch another clip and then back to "User 2" - all the buttons are dark - indicating that all effects are off...?

Any ideas on how to fix this? It seems like the communication between Live and the Launchpad drops out when I change page...?

Thanks in advance!

/Henric
http://www.soundcloud.com/leisure-me
http://www.mixcloud.com/leisure_me
http://www.kunstlab.info/knaque/

Software: Ableton Live Suite 8.
Controllers: AKAI MPK49, Novation Nocturn, Novation Launchpad.

WFTD
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 12:01 pm

Re: Playing around with the Launchpad

Post by WFTD » Tue Nov 10, 2009 10:56 am

Hi Henric,

Firstly to say that all the pads on the LaunchPad are assigned to notes, and I am assuming you have the lEDS coming on as you have some kind of MIDI routing back to the LaunchPad. As you would with the DrumRack in USER 1 mode in the Promo Video for the Launch Pad. I don't think the lights will coming on without the MIDI routing back to the LaunchPad.
Are you using AutoMap or Live’s MIDI map mode?

Ben aka Welfare for the Digital

holistic
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 8:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Playing around with the Launchpad

Post by holistic » Tue Nov 10, 2009 12:34 pm

Hi Ben!

Thanks for the quick reply.

In the Live Preferences i have Launchpad as a control surface, with input and output set to "Launchpad"..
I also have Launchpad as a input and output activated for "Track" and "Remote"

Is this something in this setup I can change?

Regarding Automap: I haven't figured out how to edit the buttons on the Launchpad...? I also have a Nocturn connected, and on that i just use the "User"-button and then select my preset for my Live DJ-set. Then I can see the Nocturn in the Automap window and edit CC-numbers, notes, and everything.... I'm using Automap Pro (that i got for free when purchasing the Launchpad)...

Does this make sense?

Thanks once again.

Peace
/Henric
http://www.soundcloud.com/leisure-me
http://www.mixcloud.com/leisure_me
http://www.kunstlab.info/knaque/

Software: Ableton Live Suite 8.
Controllers: AKAI MPK49, Novation Nocturn, Novation Launchpad.

holistic
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 8:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Playing around with the Launchpad

Post by holistic » Tue Nov 10, 2009 12:36 pm

oh sorry, forgot to say:

When mapping the on/off-switch on the effect I just click on the "MIDI"-area in the top right corner of Live and select the on/off-switch and then press the button I want to map it to on my Launchpad.
http://www.soundcloud.com/leisure-me
http://www.mixcloud.com/leisure_me
http://www.kunstlab.info/knaque/

Software: Ableton Live Suite 8.
Controllers: AKAI MPK49, Novation Nocturn, Novation Launchpad.

WFTD
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 12:01 pm

Re: Playing around with the Launchpad

Post by WFTD » Tue Nov 10, 2009 2:02 pm

Hi,

I see what you mean, and ill have a look at my set up tonight. When I have used USER 2 mode non of the LEDS light on. And I have had these set to Beat Repeat etc for One Track Channel.
I know if you use USER 1 mode and load a drum rack you can have the midi routed back to the launch pad and the LEDS coming up intime with the beats etc.
Problem is when you do this, is that the LEDS srping up in session mode and confuse it, so I have to turn the monitoring off when moving to Sessions Mode from USER 1 mode.

Couple of Videos found really helpful are these.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jkvq_6Jg6UU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rnYk1X62JV0

These are all from Fletch Music, and are really helpful infiguring out what the Launchpad is up to.

Ill get back to you tomorrow

WFTD
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 12:01 pm

Re: Playing around with the Launchpad

Post by WFTD » Wed Nov 11, 2009 12:31 pm

Hi Mate,

I tried this last night using AUto Filter in USER 2 mode. I use the range when mapping these i.e. bottom to top pads and then Mapped these using LIVE 8's Midi Map function. The bottom light did come on, but when I went to session mode then back it had gone. BUT the effect still worked on the track.

I dont see how you can have the LEDS light up when there isnt a signal sending it back to the pad. If you have a look at the video I posted in regards to the Drum Rack, you can see that the MIDI signal is routed back to the pad, hence the LEDS pop up. So I am not sure this can be done like you are requesting?
But then saying that....on the other video in regards to Beat Reapeat, the LEDS do come up..

Not sure how to help matey....guess just gotta play around and see...if you get an answer thought do tell us!

Ben

holistic
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 8:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Playing around with the Launchpad

Post by holistic » Thu Nov 12, 2009 2:25 pm

Hi Ben!

Been away for a while. Thanks for looking into it!
I'm gonna have time tomorrow to try to get this sorted out. Will post here as soon as I fugre sumthin' out.

Cheers!
Henric
http://www.soundcloud.com/leisure-me
http://www.mixcloud.com/leisure_me
http://www.kunstlab.info/knaque/

Software: Ableton Live Suite 8.
Controllers: AKAI MPK49, Novation Nocturn, Novation Launchpad.

LoopStationZebra
Posts: 10586
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Playing around with the Launchpad

Post by LoopStationZebra » Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:01 pm

Hmm. With on/off devices this works fine for me. Press a button in User2 or User1, the light comes on and my device turns on. I can flip over to Session or anything else, come back, and it's still on.

holistic, what version of 8 are you on?
I came for the :lol:
But stayed for the :x

holistic
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 8:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Playing around with the Launchpad

Post by holistic » Fri Nov 13, 2009 10:47 am

I'm using 8.0.8.

Nice to hear that you've got it working. That means there's probably sumthin wrong with my settings.

Or maybe I need to upgrade?

cheers
http://www.soundcloud.com/leisure-me
http://www.mixcloud.com/leisure_me
http://www.kunstlab.info/knaque/

Software: Ableton Live Suite 8.
Controllers: AKAI MPK49, Novation Nocturn, Novation Launchpad.

LoopStationZebra
Posts: 10586
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Playing around with the Launchpad

Post by LoopStationZebra » Fri Nov 13, 2009 4:08 pm

holistic wrote:I'm using 8.0.8.

Nice to hear that you've got it working. That means there's probably sumthin wrong with my settings.

Or maybe I need to upgrade?

cheers

No, I'm on 8.0.8 also and you've got your settings correct from what I gathered in your previous post.

Have you been messing with Automap? That might have caused some issues.

Did you install the drivers?
I came for the :lol:
But stayed for the :x

holistic
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 8:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Playing around with the Launchpad

Post by holistic » Fri Nov 13, 2009 9:40 pm

It's working now all of a sudden! Lovin' it. Maybe just some temporary bug. Last time my computer had been running for over 48 hours non-stop so everything was a little slow...

There seems to be some latency when I change to user 2-mode before the buttons light up. Maybe I was being a little inpatient last time.

Thanx for all the support guys, love the videos Ben!
http://www.soundcloud.com/leisure-me
http://www.mixcloud.com/leisure_me
http://www.kunstlab.info/knaque/

Software: Ableton Live Suite 8.
Controllers: AKAI MPK49, Novation Nocturn, Novation Launchpad.

WFTD
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 12:01 pm

Re: Playing around with the Launchpad

Post by WFTD » Thu Nov 19, 2009 1:41 pm

holistic wrote:It's working now all of a sudden! Lovin' it. Maybe just some temporary bug. Last time my computer had been running for over 48 hours non-stop so everything was a little slow...

There seems to be some latency when I change to user 2-mode before the buttons light up. Maybe I was being a little inpatient last time.

Thanx for all the support guys, love the videos Ben!
No worries dude....anytime!!

Hermanus
Posts: 1648
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:47 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Playing around with the Launchpad

Post by Hermanus » Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:35 pm

well LEDs seem to not lighten when you map audio effects.
i.e racked beatRepeat

I can't route some midi for these fx...so no led lighten
anyone got lucky with this?

I naively thought they would implement the visual feedback at least.

holistic
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 8:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Playing around with the Launchpad

Post by holistic » Thu Nov 19, 2009 8:17 pm

Hermanus,
I got it working using six different effects on the same channel. They weren't racked though I think.. kind of a noob. Do you mean that you've grouped your audio effects in some way?

My settings are: Launchpad as a control surface. Then I've got the Launchpad as an input and output for "Track" and "Remote". I mapped the on/off-switch to buttons in the "User 2"-page...

Does this help?

Regards,
Henric
http://www.soundcloud.com/leisure-me
http://www.mixcloud.com/leisure_me
http://www.kunstlab.info/knaque/

Software: Ableton Live Suite 8.
Controllers: AKAI MPK49, Novation Nocturn, Novation Launchpad.

Post Reply