drum racks and external hardware

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
spiral
Posts: 742
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

drum racks and external hardware

Post by spiral » Sat Nov 14, 2009 6:19 am

im trying to create a drum rack for me drumstation
so each note is labelled with corresponding sound on drumstation
but this doesnt send any midi to external device

is there a better way to label each note/sound in a rack that works

Alextronica
Posts: 465
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 5:43 am
Location: Big Rock IL
Contact:

Re: drum racks and external hardware

Post by Alextronica » Sun Nov 15, 2009 6:54 am

Do think you have much luck with that. Sorry Bro. Wish I could help ya.

You can send MIDI info via the IAC bus on a Mac but I dont think it can be done out an empty drum rack and I'm not quite sure how to get that MIDI info out of the computer via your MIDI out on your sound card.

Good Luck
Black Mac Book 2.16 4gigs of Ram > Ableton 7 Suite > Komplete 5 > APC40 > Novation Remote SL25 > Allen and Heath Xone 92 > Korg Kaoscillator

www.soundcloud.com/Alextronica

guap
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 3:48 am
Location: New Orleans

Re: drum racks and external hardware

Post by guap » Sun Nov 15, 2009 7:49 am

do you have a version of live with the external instrument device? if so, group a drum rack full of dummy wavs as a chain parallel to an external instrument, then name the cells in the drum rack and mute it. the notes will show up named/foldable in the instrument rack's piano roll this way.

spiral
Posts: 742
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: drum racks and external hardware

Post by spiral » Tue Nov 17, 2009 7:00 am

guap wrote:do you have a version of live with the external instrument device? if so, group a drum rack full of dummy wavs as a chain parallel to an external instrument, then name the cells in the drum rack and mute it. the notes will show up named/foldable in the instrument rack's piano roll this way.
yeah i'm on live 8
and yeah makes sense - nice one will give it a go later
i might make an empty wav and see what live does

guap
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 3:48 am
Location: New Orleans

Re: drum racks and external hardware

Post by guap » Wed Nov 18, 2009 8:37 am

i'm pretty sure there's already one in the utility folder of the default library

dgill
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 9:20 pm

Re: drum racks and external hardware

Post by dgill » Wed Nov 18, 2009 3:21 pm

just put an external instrument on each pad.

spiral
Posts: 742
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: drum racks and external hardware

Post by spiral » Thu Nov 19, 2009 1:36 am

dgill wrote:just put an external instrument on each pad.

that doesnt work
doesnt send midi out for some reason

ton
Posts: 168
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2002 11:55 am
Location: year 2032

Re: drum racks and external hardware

Post by ton » Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:30 am

spiral wrote:that doesnt work
doesnt send midi out for some reason
It should work if you do the routing and monitoring settings correctly. You should send out also on the midi channel where your drumstation is listening to.

sowhoso
Posts: 836
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 1:14 am

Re: drum racks and external hardware

Post by sowhoso » Mon Dec 14, 2009 1:22 pm

it seems obvious to everyone else, but not to me, so...

what's the purpose/benefit of doing it this way?

I have a rack with an external instrument and fx on it for my h/w drum machine and I send midi in the usual way

thx!

zalo
Posts: 999
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 9:10 pm

Re: drum racks and external hardware

Post by zalo » Wed Dec 16, 2009 1:13 am

spiral wrote:im trying to create a drum rack for me drumstation
so each note is labelled with corresponding sound on drumstation
but this doesnt send any midi to external device

is there a better way to label each note/sound in a rack that works
just create a chain for each note and narrow the key range down and then name the chain, then rightclick and click on show names on piano roll or somehting

spiral
Posts: 742
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: drum racks and external hardware

Post by spiral » Sat Jan 09, 2010 11:52 pm

ending up using empty wavs and routing midi to external hardware - works well - thanks for all suggestions
i got multiple external device working making sure that the note pressed was the same as sent but the problem was i would end up with 20 audio inputs in the rack

spiral
Posts: 742
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: drum racks and external hardware

Post by spiral » Sun Jan 10, 2010 12:32 am

figured out the chain thing
set up all the separate pads for specific notes
then created a chain which accepted all notes and put external instrument in there
works great

spiral
Posts: 742
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: drum racks and external hardware

Post by spiral » Wed Jan 13, 2010 5:53 am

this is how I ended up doing it
you can grab the drum rack from here too
thanks for all the help

http://acidboxblues.blogspot.com/2010/0 ... racks.html

fratts
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 9:36 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: drum racks and external hardware

Post by fratts » Thu Dec 01, 2011 8:27 pm

spiral wrote:this is how I ended up doing it
you can grab the drum rack from here too
thanks for all the help

http://acidboxblues.blogspot.com/2010/0 ... racks.html
Hey Spiral, I'm trying to get this to work with an MC505 - I followed your post on this link and I'm basically getting double hits from the drum machine - I noticed the link to your set was dead as well so hoping you could share it or help me out? Cheers in Advance :)

spiral
Posts: 742
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: drum racks and external hardware

Post by spiral » Wed Dec 21, 2011 11:05 pm

fratts wrote:
spiral wrote:this is how I ended up doing it
you can grab the drum rack from here too
thanks for all the help

http://acidboxblues.blogspot.com/2010/0 ... racks.html
Hey Spiral, I'm trying to get this to work with an MC505 - I followed your post on this link and I'm basically getting double hits from the drum machine - I noticed the link to your set was dead as well so hoping you could share it or help me out? Cheers in Advance :)
yeah happy to help
pm me your email and i'll send you the preset

dylan

Post Reply