different Live Configurations possible?

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
fisto
Posts: 354
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 4:06 pm

different Live Configurations possible?

Post by fisto » Wed Dec 02, 2009 5:33 pm

Hi Abes,

i'm switching over to reaper for mixing, and i'd like to know if it's possible to startup ableton with different
configurations.
For example one with ASIO M-Audio USB and one with ASIO-ReaRoute, without having to change that manually.
Changing that is not the big problem, but the Latency-Compensation Number in ms is always a pain.
It's annoying to do that every time i switch from writing to mixing.
I hope that there is a trick to do that faster.

Thanks!

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Re: different Live Configurations possible?

Post by longjohns » Thu Dec 03, 2009 2:54 am

i would assume that you could do two separate installations, each with their own preference settings

sharing a library, surely

fisto
Posts: 354
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 4:06 pm

Re: different Live Configurations possible?

Post by fisto » Thu Dec 03, 2009 12:06 pm

i've also thought about that already. Seems to be the fastest solution by now.
You could also make 2 configs and activate the one you need before starting ableton (with placing the right config in the program-folder).

ton
Posts: 168
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2002 11:55 am
Location: year 2032

Re: different Live Configurations possible?

Post by ton » Fri Dec 10, 2010 1:54 am

fisto wrote:i'm switching over to reaper for mixing, and i'd like to know if it's possible to startup ableton with different
configurations.
For example one with ASIO M-Audio USB and one with ASIO-ReaRoute, without having to change that manually.
Hi fisto, how are you using Live with ReaRoute? My idea is composing, arranging, automating, doing everything in Live first. When the song is finished that far, including also many hardware synthesizers, where I would have to record them anyway somewhere as audio file, I would prefer recording everything directly via ReaRoute into Reaper instead, to use its more extensive mixing features. This way also the whole composition and mixing work would be separated. How are you using it, do you record directly multiple audio channels from Live into Reaper via ReaRoute or any other method? Thanks in advance.

ShelLuser
Posts: 3813
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 10:26 pm
Location: Wageningen, Netherlands

Re: different Live Configurations possible?

Post by ShelLuser » Fri Dec 10, 2010 7:50 pm

You would indeed need to do some manual tweaking (like renaming config files or directories) since several copies of Live (even different versions) will normally all use the same configuration.

This is not something which is supported by Live out of the box unfortunately.
With kind regards,

Peter

Using the 'Power' Trio: Live 10 Suite (+ Push & Max 8 ), Reason 10 and Maschine Mk3 (+ the ultimate Komplete 12).
Blog: SynthFan (under heavy construction!)

Post Reply