making sounds sound close or far?

Share your favorite Ableton Live tips, tricks, and techniques.
bertzerk

making sounds sound close or far?

Post by bertzerk » Fri Jan 08, 2010 11:11 am

specifically drum sounds but for anything really. how do you make something sound like its in the back, or then bring it up so it sounds like its right in front of your face?

is it just reverb settings? im trying to figure a consistent way of doing this, but havent gotten a surefire way to do it that sounds legit....

also since we are on this question, how do you make a sound sound like, say a flyby, or something that is moving quickly from way out ahead of you to swooshing behind you? i get panning, but some music or movie sound effects really sort of capture that illusion quite awesomely..

is there a doppler type effect in Live Suite?

any help would be rad....im a bit of a noob at sound design. probably gonna be asking a lot of questions like this....

muckleberryblim

Re: making sounds sound close or far?

Post by muckleberryblim » Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:17 pm

doppler effect is just (downwards) pitch shifting and panning
automation of reverb can add realism too
and also try eq/filtering, taking out more frequencies the further away something is...

muckleberryblim

Post by muckleberryblim » Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:19 pm

and try convolution reverbs for "real" environment emulation, there's is a free one called SIR

Quantize

Post by Quantize » Fri Jan 08, 2010 10:09 pm

To make a sound realistically "swoosh behind you" it would need to be mixed in 5.1

bertzerk

Post by bertzerk » Fri Jan 08, 2010 10:14 pm

say ionly have ableton stuff, how specifically would i get the sounds to sound far or near with the reverb settings?

im not 100% clear on what i should be doing with the pre delay, diffusion, etc... can anyone tell me a specific way to get things to sound further or closer?

thanks for the replies! this forum rocks!

yur2die4

Post by yur2die4 » Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:13 am