Page 1 of 1

anyone know of a midi note range filter plugin?

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 3:59 pm
by telepath
i'm looking to run 2 different soft synths from the same controller, and i need to split the note range. (some VSTi's let you set the note range but others, like Pro-53 do not.)

Re: anyone know of a midi note range filter plugin?

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 4:07 pm
by Angstrom
you can use the ableton Midi device "pitch"

make a rack with two chains, one instrument in each chain.

get an Ableton Pitch device, drop it in chain one, before the instrument.
In the Pitch device assuming you want a midi range of A0 to A3, set "lowest = A0" , "range = 36"
put that Pitch device in a rack chain in front of your first instrument (a bass I'd suggest)


to set the second range drop a new pitch device into the second chain in front of the second instrument.
set the "lowest = A3" , "range = 90"

that'll do it.

If you want to alter the pitch of the instruments, of course, you can turn the big dial marked "pitch"

Re: anyone know of a midi note range filter plugin?

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 4:07 pm
by Lo-Fi Massahkah
Racks?

Re: anyone know of a midi note range filter plugin?

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 4:09 pm
by Lo-Fi Massahkah
Look at this display of different approaches. Angstrom being the caring provider (= the way it should be), me just being... short.

Oh. If everyone were like Angstrom.

.m

Re: anyone know of a midi note range filter plugin?

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 4:10 pm
by Angstrom
Lo-Fi Massahkah wrote:Racks?
:lol:

yeah - here's me forgetting that racks have a key range.
I mustn't have opened that flyout for ages.

of course my method gives you an added transpose to rectify any pitch shift. So I will now pretend that I knew this all along, yep. That's why.

Re: anyone know of a midi note range filter plugin?

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 4:17 pm
by Lo-Fi Massahkah
Angstrom wrote:
Lo-Fi Massahkah wrote:Racks?
:lol:

of course my method gives you an added transpose to rectify any pitch shift.
Why. Of course! :D

.m

Re: anyone know of a midi note range filter plugin?

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:37 pm
by telepath
actually, i'm running live 5 so the pitch thing is a perfect fix. thanx angstrom...

Re: anyone know of a midi note range filter plugin?

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
by Lo-Fi Massahkah
telepath wrote:actually, i'm running live 5 so the pitch thing is a perfect fix. thanx angstrom...
Damnit!