APC40 how to make it stop changing "focus"

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
deerwolf
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 7:15 pm
Location: Oakland, California
Contact:

APC40 how to make it stop changing "focus"

Post by deerwolf » Thu Jan 21, 2010 12:29 am

Whenever you fire a clip, the device control knobs (bank of lower 8 knobs) on the the APC40 switch automatically to represent the devices on whatever track a clip was just triggered. So for example, if I am tweaking the device control knobs and then I fire a clip on another track, the knobs have now all just changed to the devices on the track playing the most recently triggered clip. Essentially, I want it to not change focus ever automatically, only if I choose a track via the "track selection" buttons. This way I can keep focused on the master channel devices and hop onto individual channels only if I really want to, not every time I fire a clip. Any help is much appreciated! Thanks,

Kevin

deerwolf
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 7:15 pm
Location: Oakland, California
Contact:

Re: APC40 how to make it stop changing "focus"

Post by deerwolf » Thu Jan 21, 2010 1:43 am

Ah! Figured it out, disable "select on launch" in live preferences, wow makes using the APC40 a lot better, I highly recommend turning this off.

JEB
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 2:31 pm
Contact:

Re: APC40 how to make it stop changing "focus"

Post by JEB » Fri Jan 22, 2010 4:06 pm

Also, you can right/cmd click "lock to control surface" so the knobs will always use the same rack or device.

suburbmusic
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 2:00 pm

Re: APC40 how to make it stop changing "focus"

Post by suburbmusic » Sun Jan 24, 2010 8:46 pm

in which menu do you exactly find : select on launch?
i couldn`t find it.
it would be soo cool if i can turn the focus of

suburbmusic
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 2:00 pm

Re: APC40 how to make it stop changing "focus"

Post by suburbmusic » Fri Jan 29, 2010 5:46 am

bump....sorry i need to know

mode:masters
Posts: 246
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 2:32 am
Location: Sth. Australia

Re: APC40 how to make it stop changing "focus"

Post by mode:masters » Fri Jan 29, 2010 5:58 am

It's in the RECORD/WARP/LAUNCH section of the prefs

Image

suburbmusic
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 2:00 pm

Re: APC40 how to make it stop changing "focus"

Post by suburbmusic » Fri Jan 29, 2010 12:57 pm

...dooh....thx...i was blind sorry

drakeyboy
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:05 pm

Re: APC40 how to make it stop changing "focus"

Post by drakeyboy » Fri Jan 29, 2010 1:53 pm

was trying to work this one out myself.
Mac Pro 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad Xeon
OS X 10.5.8

Post Reply