All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: saving instruments
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2013 10:25 pm 

Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 11:13 am
Posts: 8
when i save an instrument and then load it, when i edit it again it saves it as a new instrument and copies all the sounds all over again.
is there any way to save with creating a new instrument?

thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: saving instruments
PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:50 am 

Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 4:50 pm
Posts: 11636
Location: MacAbleton Towers, sunny Manchester.
Maybe it's because it's 6am, but the OP is confusing to me. Can you lay it out step by step?

_________________
Image
★ 140 PAGES OF FREE exclusive Ableton Live and Mac OS X tutorials ★ News, interviews, gear reviews ★ Productivity, ergonomics, mouse-free computing
"great site with clear instructions and i like it that you make it understandable" dwiddy
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: saving instruments
PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:52 am 

Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 5:29 pm
Posts: 623
funken wrote:
Maybe it's because it's 6am, but the OP is confusing to me. Can you lay it out step by step?

nope it's not you. I was just going to post that the sentence didn't make any sense at all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: saving instruments
PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 7:55 am 

Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 1:34 am
Posts: 820
I'm guessing you're using a sampler or drum rack or something... say.. MySampler. You drag MySampler into the project and you tweak it around a bit. Then you click the save button, and it automatically tries to save in the browser as MySampler-1.

Solution: Delete the -1 part of the file name before you save it? 8O


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: saving instruments
PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 8:10 am 

Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Posts: 2646
Location: beneath mouse mountain
Yes. But what does he mean by 'copies the sounds all over again'?

_________________
workshop
soundcloud
mixes


live 9.1.2, OS mavericks, push, stray's script, MPD32/LD8, stc, access virus kc


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: saving instruments
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 7:48 pm 

Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 11:13 am
Posts: 8
sorry guys for the confusion.

i'll go step by step.

i create an instrument with some kick drums form a folder on an external hard drive.

i then go and save this instrument in a new location in my user library. the instrument saves with all of the wav files from the instrument, all copied to the new location as well.

if i decide to edit this new instrument again, and i try to save it, it creates a new instrument file, recopies all the wav files again, adding a -1 to the name of this new instrument.

i would like to just overwrite the old instrument when i save it, not create a new on and avoid the wav files being copied again and again.

hope this is clear...


thanks anyhow



edit:

never mind, it only copies once i was mistaken
:oops:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group