All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Mix Multi track in Drum Rack?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 6:05 pm 

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 9:29 pm
Posts: 545
Hi,

I usually use EzDrummer to do my drums, so I am able to route each drum piece (kick, snare, hh, etc...) to separate audio tracks, so I can mix them like a real drum.

But now I got a Drum Rack, and I want to assign the kick to a separate audio track so I can keep it dry, and put the rest of the drum in reverb.

One solution would be to duplicate the track and put a 2nd drum rack with only the kick playing and the rest of the drum with the original drum rack.

But what I would like to do is to make the kick output from the drum rack to a separate audio track.

Thanks

_________________
Mac OSX 10.8.4 and Win 7 pro 64 bits
Live 9 Suite
Many soundcards (FF800, PreSonus 44VSL, M-Audio Transit)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mix Multi track in Drum Rack?
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2013 2:10 am 

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am
Posts: 1132
I'm at work so don't have Live in front of me but you can easily create FX chains within a drum rack (Send/Returns) and then you can also create sends to external AUX busses and this is all Per Pad.

On the LEFT where you have your show/hide controls for the drumrack components open the send/return and then explore that. Easier still, search youtube for Live Drumrack Tutorials and you will be on your way.

Additionally, if you have a drum rack you can open the mixer of the drum rack to make adjusting all samples easier. On the Drum Track channel (at the top of the clip window where the track title is) you will see a circle with a triangle. Click that and any populated pads will show a volume slider.

I think all that is correct off the top of my head.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mix Multi track in Drum Rack?
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2013 7:47 pm 

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 9:29 pm
Posts: 545
I see, but the 'audio to' box is greyed out... I can't seem to be able to do it. I have the individual kick track appearing (either in session view, or in the drum rack in arrangement view), but can't assign it to another output, nor a send...

here what the explanation says: "Sets the output routing of this chain. Normally, chains route directly to the output of the Rack, but it is possible to route return chains to one of the Set's return tracks. Drum and return chains in nested Racks can also be routed "upwards" to the returns of any Drum Racks that contain them."

_________________
Mac OSX 10.8.4 and Win 7 pro 64 bits
Live 9 Suite
Many soundcards (FF800, PreSonus 44VSL, M-Audio Transit)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mix Multi track in Drum Rack?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 1:02 pm 

Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:27 pm
Posts: 2193
Location: UK
[edit] never mind


Last edited by garyboozy on Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mix Multi track in Drum Rack?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 1:25 pm 

Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 1:02 pm
Posts: 225
lapieuvre wrote:
I see, but the 'audio to' box is greyed out... I can't seem to be able to do it. I have the individual kick track appearing (either in session view, or in the drum rack in arrangement view), but can't assign it to another output, nor a send...

here what the explanation says: "Sets the output routing of this chain. Normally, chains route directly to the output of the Rack, but it is possible to route return chains to one of the Set's return tracks. Drum and return chains in nested Racks can also be routed "upwards" to the returns of any Drum Racks that contain them."


You need to activate the send/returns inside the actual drum rack. Drum racks have their own send/returns whach are not the same as the main send/returns. The buttons for them are on the bottom left of the drum rack - the return button will create an empty return window under the chains window, if you right click in this you can create a return.

If you create a return inside the drum rack, that return can then have FX on it itself or be used like a bus to route stuff to Ableton's main returns (for example if you want to share your drum reverb with other tracks this would be the way to do it).

PS this workflow is a lot simpler that I've made it sound here when you actually do it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mix Multi track in Drum Rack?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 3:54 pm 

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 9:29 pm
Posts: 545
Got it! Thanks a lot, Timday

_________________
Mac OSX 10.8.4 and Win 7 pro 64 bits
Live 9 Suite
Many soundcards (FF800, PreSonus 44VSL, M-Audio Transit)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group