Should 'one' use Complex Pro LIVE?

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
benjamingordon
Posts: 553
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:20 pm

Should 'one' use Complex Pro LIVE?

Post by benjamingordon » Sun Feb 14, 2010 2:27 pm

Hi.

Just putting the feelers out there about Complex Pro and using it Live....

I find my audio buffer needs to be on 1024samples in order for it to handle it ok...

Im on a dual 2.4GHz MacBook Pro, 4GB RAM....

Any feedback from everyone?

Tarekith
Posts: 17579
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Should 'one' use Complex Pro LIVE?

Post by Tarekith » Sun Feb 14, 2010 3:05 pm

I was using it exclusively until recently, starting having issues with tracks that were using 'clicking' when I triggered another track that uses Pro too.

http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php? ... omplex+pro

Weird, seems to be hit or miss for me, doesn't always happen.

benjamingordon
Posts: 553
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:20 pm

Re: Should 'one' use Complex Pro LIVE?

Post by benjamingordon » Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:37 am

Ive been getting clicking unless im in 1024 samples...

Back to complex for me...

Lets hope apple are gonna bring out these quad core laptops then!!!

:)

nuperspective
Posts: 1394
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 3:45 pm
Location: was: accrington [england]. now: melbourne [australia]

Re: Should 'one' use Complex Pro LIVE?

Post by nuperspective » Mon Feb 15, 2010 1:34 am

from a djing stand point i did use complex / complex pro 90% of the time. i do notice un-natural sounding processing sometimes.

However, a lot of my tracks are at similar tempos, so now i use re-pitch mainly [about 90%] and opt for complex only when i have to. easier on the cpu as well.

jibberish
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 12:25 am

Re: Should 'one' use Complex Pro LIVE?

Post by jibberish » Tue Feb 16, 2010 8:06 pm

In my experience. Complex Pro really only works for isolated vocal warping, because it is using formant synthesis to fill in the gaps created by stretching the file around.

Save yourself the processor speed and just use Complex. If are anticipating dramatic tempo shifts, you might consider Consolidating the warped track at the new tempo.

Tarekith
Posts: 17579
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Should 'one' use Complex Pro LIVE?

Post by Tarekith » Tue Feb 16, 2010 9:00 pm

Just to follow up, I had reported my issues to Abe support, and they told me to reproduce it and send them the set. And of course I can't reproduce it today, it's working fine. Seems to be hit or miss, not sure what's triggering it.

datanoir
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 8:23 pm

Re: Should 'one' use Complex Pro LIVE?

Post by datanoir » Wed Feb 17, 2010 2:29 pm

Anyone ever notice that complex totally messes up the "air" > 10Khz in a track?

capo-wear-i
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 4:28 pm

Re: Should 'one' use Complex Pro LIVE?

Post by capo-wear-i » Wed Feb 17, 2010 3:27 pm

It's timestretching in realtime - and that's what timestretching sounds like. Not ableton's fault.. Well, the clicks and pops are, but not the overall sound..

FYI : Complex Pro uses software algorithms from Zplane

http://www.zplane.de/index.php?page=des ... escription


Exactly the same algorithms as used by Native instruments Traktor and a lot of other DJ & DAW programs..

Post Reply