DJing with Live: I've warped songs... Now what?

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
yosh

DJing with Live: I've warped songs... Now what?

Post by yosh » Wed Feb 24, 2010 7:46 pm

Hey all,

I'm an amateur who has been using Ableton to record and produce. Recently, I decided that I wanted to just play around with some DJing with ableton. I've never DJed before in any format, and I'm not interested in learning to spin records or any of that. I want to learn this skill on Ableton, because that's what I have already been learning!

So, I warped up a bunch of songs. Now what? Where do I go from here? I've done some simple crossfades between tracks, but that is about it. What are some basic Djing-with-live things that I can try out and practice?

Thanks in advance for the wealth of information I hope you share!

yur2die4

Re: DJing with Live: I've warped songs... Now what?

Post by yur2die4 » Thu Feb 25, 2010 5:03 am

Have you been using Arrangement View or Session View?? If you want to do on the fly improv, I'd recommend playing with Session View. There are a lot of things to look into. First thing is probably EQing.

If you are more planning to do a mix cd or something, that is a lot more planned out, you might consider using the Arrangement View so you can see where your tracks are blending.

There really is a lot lot lot you can teach yourself on djing.

drumrak

Post by drumrak » Thu Feb 25, 2010 5:41 am

you mix them however the fck you want!

thats the DJs job, thats what you do when you DJ!

:roll: :roll: :roll:

Trypset

Post by Trypset » Thu Feb 25, 2010 10:54 am

from a DJing perspective concentrate on dropping in new tracks in 8, 16, and 32 bar cycles.