Setting up a DJ set up with Launchpad

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
mehsanoh
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 3:59 pm

Setting up a DJ set up with Launchpad

Post by mehsanoh » Mon Mar 15, 2010 10:47 pm

Knowing you can only access track volumes via the mixer view, does anyone have a good trick to be able to mix in a track without having to toggle between session and mixer view quickly?

I guess using the A/B fader is one way but it's a bit of a downer. :?
Imho one of the main advantages of the APC is that it has a fader per track, directly accessible with the session view. Not sure how to best manage this miss with Launchpad.
Oh yeah, I was at Dubpot in NYC to listen to Thavius Beck for a Ableton Live user group and he said he uses filtering a lot to transition in between tracks seamlessly.

Also, what global quantize setting do you use to launch clips when you have a DJ-type set up in Live? "None" mirrors regular mixing techniques the most but requires this extra precision. 1/4 seems to work ok for me. Any other suggestion?

silveriofunk
Posts: 396
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 12:34 am
Location: London

Re: Setting up a DJ set up with Launchpad

Post by silveriofunk » Tue Mar 16, 2010 11:16 am

i'm using an mpd24 for faders and knobs, i guess i could just buy a smaller controller, but since i have that one already i kept it when i got the launch pad since changing views just f*cks up the workflow.

not much of a solution to you, i guess...

the apc20 will fix all that ;-)

myxomat0515
Posts: 414
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 3:31 am
Location: Florida

Re: Setting up a DJ set up with Launchpad

Post by myxomat0515 » Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:40 pm

Yea, that is a definite drawback of the LP. It sucks flipping through scenes. I have a UC-33e for knobs/sliders. At some point, you should definitely consider picking up a second controller. In the meantime, you could try to automate some track volume/filtering tricks for transitions using dummy clips. That way you can trigger them without leaving the clip launcher scene.

dtlj
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 5:28 pm

Re: Setting up a DJ set up with Launchpad

Post by dtlj » Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:47 pm

i have mine set to 8 bars, gives me enough time to think about things and pick any dummy clips, if i want them

scrolling does suck but dont forget if you hold the session view button when in session view you get a "god" view which can be very helpful depending on how you have your songs set up

Post Reply