'Loud' Renders?

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
mikesena

'Loud' Renders?

Post by mikesena » Tue Aug 24, 2010 2:17 pm

Hi,

I'm really hoping this isn't too simple of a question, or too complex to be answered.

I'm making electro songs; elements of house, dance and hard trance. When I generate / export the song as a WAV, its really quiet compared to other dance songs. I've been working with Ableton for a couple of months now, and have been getting better at using my EQs to leave room for the kick, additional headroom for the melody by lowing certain frequencies etc. but, I want to generate a track at normal, 'standard' volumes, but how it just seems to boom if I request it to generate. However, if I'm listening through my speakers or headphones at an appropriate volume / one I'd like, it sounds great.

My master, to avoid things going red, is about 2/3 of the way down, but I can kinda boost that to the standard line when exporting. Also, I'm exporting as a WAV, normalisation on, high bit-rates/low doesn't seem to make a difference.

Any tips, areas I can look at?

Cheers,
Michael

flippo

Re: 'Loud' Renders?

Post by flippo » Wed Aug 25, 2010 12:37 am

mikesena wrote:Hi,

I'm really hoping this isn't too simple of a question, or too complex to be answered.

I'm making electro songs; elements of house, dance and hard trance. When I generate / export the song as a WAV, its really quiet compared to other dance songs. I've been working with Ableton for a couple of months now, and have been getting better at using my EQs to leave room for the kick, additional headroom for the melody by lowing certain frequencies etc. but, I want to generate a track at normal, 'standard' volumes, but how it just seems to boom if I request it to generate. However, if I'm listening through my speakers or headphones at an appropriate volume / one I'd like, it sounds great.