Removing reverb from a sample

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
The Big Q T
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 1:20 pm

Removing reverb from a sample

Post by The Big Q T » Mon Oct 11, 2010 9:34 am

Hey

I have this awesome vocal sample but its filled with reverb. How do I reduce the reverb on this sample?

Any suggestions welcome.

Thanks

Q
Gear : Ableton Suite, Korg X50, Korg Kaos Pad3,Akai Mpc1000, M-Audio Ultra Audio Interface, Cakewalk Midi Interface

Manik
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 11:26 am
Location: Haarlem / The Netherlands

Re: Removing reverb from a sample

Post by Manik » Mon Oct 11, 2010 9:43 am

Maybe the SPL deverb does the trick!

http://www.hitsquad.com/smm/programs/DeVerbOSX/

The Big Q T
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 1:20 pm

Re: Removing reverb from a sample

Post by The Big Q T » Mon Oct 11, 2010 9:46 am

Thanks....its Mac only download. I was hoping to use a Live effect or some free VST.
Gear : Ableton Suite, Korg X50, Korg Kaos Pad3,Akai Mpc1000, M-Audio Ultra Audio Interface, Cakewalk Midi Interface

nemoy
Posts: 380
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 1:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Removing reverb from a sample

Post by nemoy » Mon Oct 11, 2010 11:02 am

try gating; kjaerhus have that coole Gate called GAG ( Golden Audio Gate)
work a bit on release time, and intensity, and you can cut out quite a bit of the reverb..

crumhorn
Posts: 2503
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 6:04 pm

Re: Removing reverb from a sample

Post by crumhorn » Mon Oct 11, 2010 11:48 am

If it's a stereo reverb try a Utility set to 0% width. It won't remove it completely but should reduce it. It all depends on the stereo spread of the reverb sound.

Edit:

My previous edit re vocoder idea removed. it doesn't work, I made a mistake in my test setup. But the utility idea is still helpful
"The banjo is the perfect instrument for the antisocial."

(Allow me to plug my guitar scale visualiser thingy - www.fretlearner.com)

The Big Q T
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 1:20 pm

Re: Removing reverb from a sample

Post by The Big Q T » Mon Oct 11, 2010 12:41 pm

Thanks Dude. I just played with the Utility and Vocoder and sound way better!!
Gear : Ableton Suite, Korg X50, Korg Kaos Pad3,Akai Mpc1000, M-Audio Ultra Audio Interface, Cakewalk Midi Interface

crumhorn
Posts: 2503
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 6:04 pm

Re: Removing reverb from a sample

Post by crumhorn » Mon Oct 11, 2010 2:00 pm

The vocoder idea worked for you? Once I fixed the error in my test (ie feeding the vocoder with an unreverbed signal) I got the impression that it didn't work - nice one.
"The banjo is the perfect instrument for the antisocial."

(Allow me to plug my guitar scale visualiser thingy - www.fretlearner.com)

Post Reply