best plugins to have on the master output?

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
benjamingordon
Posts: 553
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:20 pm

best plugins to have on the master output?

Post by benjamingordon » Thu Nov 04, 2010 11:29 pm

hi.

i have a compressor (psp vintage warmer), beat repeat, gate and fade to grey delay on my master track.

i have taken the compressor off as it created latency from my mic input.

can anyone suggest any good dynamic fx (and settings) that should be used when running many tracks of varied dynamic content in a live situation?

thanks!

domkane
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 5:43 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: best plugins to have on the master output?

Post by domkane » Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:06 pm

For Productions - Nothing. Your master should be empty.

For DJ sets - I'd stick to the W1 or a limiter, and have any FX on busses
Producer | Engineer | Sound-Designer

Sound designer for Moog (Phatty Series, Animoog, Sub37), FXpansion (D-CAM, Geist), Steve Duda & Deadmau5 (Nerve & Serum)

ARTIST: http://www.domkane.com
STUDIO: http://www.kaneaudio.com

benjamingordon
Posts: 553
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:20 pm

Re: best plugins to have on the master output?

Post by benjamingordon » Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:39 pm

is W1 a waves plugin?

a limiter just distorts for me if i push it slightly..

i had to take off the vintage warmer as it made the audio input latent.

will the W1 do the same?

domkane
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 5:43 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: best plugins to have on the master output?

Post by domkane » Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:51 pm

W1 is a freeware version of the Waves C1. Vintage Warmer sucks. A limiter shouldn't distort, if it does, then all your levels are way too high.
Producer | Engineer | Sound-Designer

Sound designer for Moog (Phatty Series, Animoog, Sub37), FXpansion (D-CAM, Geist), Steve Duda & Deadmau5 (Nerve & Serum)

ARTIST: http://www.domkane.com
STUDIO: http://www.kaneaudio.com

benjamingordon
Posts: 553
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:20 pm

Re: best plugins to have on the master output?

Post by benjamingordon » Sat Nov 06, 2010 2:02 pm

gonna get my levels down and try that W1... thanks dom!

simonlb
Posts: 261
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 9:48 pm

Re: best plugins to have on the master output?

Post by simonlb » Sun Nov 07, 2010 8:50 am

domkane wrote: For DJ sets - I'd stick to the W1 or a limiter, and have any FX on busses
Why the limiter? I don't see much point in limiting/compressing music that's already mastered.

domkane
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 5:43 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: best plugins to have on the master output?

Post by domkane » Sun Nov 07, 2010 10:22 am

Just to limit peaks from using things like the EQ etc that have a Q point.
Producer | Engineer | Sound-Designer

Sound designer for Moog (Phatty Series, Animoog, Sub37), FXpansion (D-CAM, Geist), Steve Duda & Deadmau5 (Nerve & Serum)

ARTIST: http://www.domkane.com
STUDIO: http://www.kaneaudio.com

illsub1
Posts: 270
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 5:36 am
Contact:

Re: best plugins to have on the master output?

Post by illsub1 » Sun Nov 07, 2010 6:53 pm

The GLUE!! Focus on your composition flow and not the mixing... It's a godsend for me because my brain can be fully creative and not worry about the mix while I'm writing.

!STiTCH!
Posts: 150
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 5:35 am

Re: best plugins to have on the master output?

Post by !STiTCH! » Mon Nov 08, 2010 12:57 am

The BBE Sonic Maximizer VST is quite nice. I have a friend who has really been my mentor for live sound with an amazing hardware set up that includes the hardware version of the BBE Sonic Maximizer. We ran tests back to back using both software and hardware and could find no difference. That puppy is my secret weapon for maintaining my bass/high balance when playing live. I do NOT use it quite as often when producing however.

benjamingordon
Posts: 553
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:20 pm

Re: best plugins to have on the master output?

Post by benjamingordon » Mon Nov 08, 2010 8:08 pm

BBE... does it create any latency?

i have live audio looping set up and the reason i cant use the vintage warmer is because it creates a little too much latency for live looping...

!STiTCH!
Posts: 150
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 5:35 am

Re: best plugins to have on the master output?

Post by !STiTCH! » Tue Nov 09, 2010 12:14 am

I have never experienced any latency using BBE software. Then again, it may depend on how you set up Live for live play. I use a bastardized version of BentoSans smartmixing setup, with FX on my Decks A & B, and PSP Vintage Warmer & BBE on my master.

benjamingordon
Posts: 553
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:20 pm

Re: best plugins to have on the master output?

Post by benjamingordon » Tue Nov 09, 2010 9:46 am

yea well the psp vintage warmer was creating latency from my audio in... even at 256 buffer it was latent... now, without it on the master there is no latency at 512!...

i have an inkling that the BBE is going to do the same...

flippo
Posts: 486
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 6:06 am
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: best plugins to have on the master output?

Post by flippo » Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:32 am

phazer

MPGK
Posts: 678
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:57 am
Location: Hamburg

Re: best plugins to have on the master output?

Post by MPGK » Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:41 am

benjamingordon wrote:yea well the psp vintage warmer was creating latency from my audio in... even at 256 buffer it was latent... now, without it on the master there is no latency at 512!...

i have an inkling that the BBE is going to do the same...
Plug-ins have an extra buffer which leads to the latency you describe, you can set its size in the preferences.

Guff Tong
Posts: 1111
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 9:53 am
Location: Warminster

Re: best plugins to have on the master output?

Post by Guff Tong » Tue Nov 09, 2010 2:19 pm

simonlb wrote:
domkane wrote: For DJ sets - I'd stick to the W1 or a limiter, and have any FX on busses
Why the limiter? I don't see much point in limiting/compressing music that's already mastered.
If you playing out a limiter is handy to save house PA from rogue volume spikes - most club systems would prolly have a limiter anyway but if it all blows up you can like point at the limiter on your master out and pass the buck to the sound engineer.

NB: If you blow a house PA up without using a limiter on your master track, make sure you know where it is should you need to drop it in quickly.... ;)

Post Reply