Key command for Activate/Deactivate Clips (on mac OS)

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
Badger123
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Key command for Activate/Deactivate Clips (on mac OS)

Post by Badger123 » Wed Mar 16, 2011 9:28 pm

This is actually a tip from Ableton Support. Many thanks to Torsten who got this working. If you want to make Activate/Deactivate Clips (or Notes) work with a shortcut, you can via the mac OS. Just insert all the following in system preferences/keyboard/keyboard shortcuts/application shortcuts:

Activate Clip(s) ctrl+cmd+M
Deactivate Clip(s) ctrl+cmd+M
Deactivate/Activate Clip(s) ctrl+cmd+M
Deactivate/Activate ctrl+cmd+M
Activate Note(s) ctrl+cmd+M
Deactivate Note(s) ctrl+cmd+M

Obviously you can choose your own shortcut. You need to enter the numerous names for this item because the way it's displayed changes dynamically in the menu.

Also the same applies to Add locator. Using the os shortcut for this function allows you to type the locator name straight after you hit it unlike the shortcut from inside the program.

Add Locator ctrl+cmd+A
Delete Locator ctrl+cmd+A
Insert Locator ctrl+cmd+A

fakemoney
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 3:17 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Re: Key command for Activate/Deactivate Clips (on mac OS)

Post by fakemoney » Mon Mar 21, 2011 2:35 pm

Funny timing...I just did this the other day and for some reason it just stopped working after a few hours of working. When I delete the shortcuts in system prefs and re-create them, it works for a while and then stops. I'm not sure what the issue is with this; there are no conflicting shortcuts or anything. Probably some OS bug. Oh well.

Badger123
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: Key command for Activate/Deactivate Clips (on mac OS)

Post by Badger123 » Mon Mar 21, 2011 7:04 pm

That's odd. It's been working here. You need to insert all entries as shown for it to work consistently.

fakemoney
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 3:17 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Re: Key command for Activate/Deactivate Clips (on mac OS)

Post by fakemoney » Mon Mar 21, 2011 7:24 pm

that's probably it; i bet i misspelled or omitted something. i'll check it out on the studio machine!

(and the locator tip is awesome!)

Badger123
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: Key command for Activate/Deactivate Clips (on mac OS)

Post by Badger123 » Tue Mar 22, 2011 4:39 pm

Yeah the bracket(s) have to be in there too!

PR1392
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 4:23 am

Re: Key command for Activate/Deactivate Clips (on mac OS)

Post by PR1392 » Mon May 02, 2011 8:46 am

This is amazing!

It begs the question... What other commands can you add?

fakemoney
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 3:17 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Re: Key command for Activate/Deactivate Clips (on mac OS)

Post by fakemoney » Tue May 17, 2011 6:50 pm

I'd love it it I could assign "select track contents" to a key combo. Doesn't seem to work though. Any rhyme/reason to why certain commands will work and others won't?

Badger123
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: Key command for Activate/Deactivate Clips (on mac OS)

Post by Badger123 » Wed May 18, 2011 6:59 pm

That one isn't in the menu bar. It's a context menu only feature so not accessible via mac shortcuts. I usually click the track name holding control down and then hit "s" afterwards to select track contents. Not quite a single stroke...

fakemoney
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 3:17 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Re: Key command for Activate/Deactivate Clips (on mac OS)

Post by fakemoney » Thu May 19, 2011 3:39 pm

Ah, I see. Good tip! I didn't realize activate/deactivate was on the main menu bar :oops: since I always used the context menu to do it.

Elevated01
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 8:53 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Re: Key command for Activate/Deactivate Clips (on mac OS)

Post by Elevated01 » Wed Nov 16, 2011 5:39 pm

I'm trying to add some keyboard shortcuts in OSX Snow Leopard, and Ableton Live is not included in the list of Applications to choose from. I have Live 8. Any tips???

battiman
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 9:27 pm
Location: malmö
Contact:

Re: Key command for Activate/Deactivate Clips (on mac OS)

Post by battiman » Mon Jan 06, 2014 12:04 am

Thank you so very very much for this!
be constructive with your blues

Post Reply