Move changes in session automatically to arrangement?

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
marra
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 7:08 pm

Move changes in session automatically to arrangement?

Post by marra » Fri Apr 08, 2011 11:42 am

Hi,

I was wondering - say if I move my snares a little bit inside a MIDI clip - is there any way to move this change over to what I've recorded in the arrangement view without having to rerecord?

Thanks!

Angstrom
Posts: 14726
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Move changes in session automatically to arrangement?

Post by Angstrom » Fri Apr 08, 2011 12:08 pm

no, the arrangement is like a tape-recording of the items in Session. Once it's there it's divorced from the source.
It's very much separated by design.

people have suggested they update session to provide an option to link content between arrangement and session, providing more than a simple "recording", but who knows if they will ever do anything like this.

marra
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 7:08 pm

Re: Move changes in session automatically to arrangement?

Post by marra » Fri Apr 08, 2011 12:11 pm

Thanks for that. Imma head over to the feature requests section :lol:

Join!!

alex1fly
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 7:30 pm

Re: Move changes in session automatically to arrangement?

Post by alex1fly » Sat Apr 16, 2011 7:53 pm

i used to run into this issue. lately ive just been doing my editing within arrangement view. if i like the change, ill copy and paste the clip from arrangement into session. i find arrangement view to be more flexible when editing my midi clips. its kind of a pain to have to go back and forth, but fast once you get used to it.

Inofaith
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 7:34 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Move changes in session automatically to arrangement?

Post by Inofaith » Mon Apr 18, 2011 2:13 am

You could just drag the updated clip with the new drums into the arrangement view and replace the old drum clips...

that's what I do. don't see the problem.

If you have automation in your session, click the little lock at the top right so the automation stays in place but clips are move-able.

dokx
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:32 am

Re: Move changes in session automatically to arrangement?

Post by dokx » Mon Apr 18, 2011 6:32 am

Inofaith wrote:You could just drag the updated clip with the new drums into the arrangement view and replace the old drum clips...

that's what I do. don't see the problem.
That can be a lot of work if your clips are spreaded around the arrangement...

Post Reply